Weed dispensaries in Reno, NV

Showing results 1 - 30

    Weed dispensaries in Reno, NV

    About this page

    Cannabis dispensaries in Reno, NV

    Called the “biggest little city in the world,” Reno, Nevada is the third largest city in Nevada — and the second-most popular destination in the state for cannabis tourism. Like Vegas, Reno has a reputation for catering to those interested in various vices, like gambling and drinking, and thanks to the town’s cannabis regulations, visitors and residents alike can visit a Reno dispensary and enjoy legal cannabis.

    Reno’s rules and regulations on cannabis

    Reno has legalized cannabis both recreationally and medically. The city gained its first medical marijuana dispensary in 2013 — despite the legalization of medical cannabis treatment in 1998 — and its first recreational cannabis dispensary in 2017. Reno’s county, Washoe, is one of only four in the state that do not enact restrictions on Nevada’s cannabis laws.

    Recreational cannabis in Reno

    To visit a recreational dispensary in Reno, potential cannabis consumers must be aged 21 or older. Users are allowed to purchase up to one ounce of flower or up to 3.5 grams of cannabis concentrates. Most Reno dispensaries do offer curbside pickup and home delivery, but some dispensaries cannot process online orders and require cash payments.

    If users live more than 25 miles from the nearest dispensary, Reno does allow home cultivation of up to six plants, or up to 12 plants for households with more than one-of-age adults.

    Medical marijuana in Reno

    Prospective medical marijuana users in Reno must apply to Nevada’s Medical Marijuana Patient Cardholder Registry, which is managed by the Department of Health and Human Services’ Division of Public and Behavioral Health (DPBH). All cannabis patients must prove they suffer from a qualifying medical condition; there is no age restriction on patients’ participation in the program, but minors need to be supervised by an adult caregiver.

    Registered patients are allowed to possess up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis flower, concentrates, edibles, or topicals. Patients are also allowed to cultivate up to 12 plants at home for medical use.

    How to get a medical marijuana in Reno

    To access a medical dispensary, Reno residents can apply to the state’s medical marijuana program through the DPBH’s online portal. Applications must include a physician’s confirmation of a qualifying medical condition as well as the physician’s recommendation for cannabis treatment. Prospective patients must also submit their fingerprints, which will be used to perform a background check, and a registration fee of $75.

    A patient can be issued a temporary medical marijuana card, which allows access to dispensaries in Reno and elsewhere in the state. Within 30 days of application submission, the background check should be complete, and patients can receive a permanent medical marijuana card from a Reno DMV.

    Where is it legal to consume cannabis in Reno?

    Currently, cannabis consumption is restricted to private property, out of public view. Reno does not allow cannabis users to consume in casinos, hotels, bars, restaurants, or other public spaces. Visitors to Reno should be careful to find 420-friendly accommodations if they hope to partake of cannabis during their trip.

    How much does cannabis cost in Reno?

    Cannabis prices in Reno are roughly on par with prices across the rest of the West Coast. For a gram of dry flower, consumers can expect to pay between $10 and $15, depending on strain and quality. A gram of concentrates costs between $30 and $50, depending on type and brand.

    Cannabis taxes in Reno

    Dispensaries in Reno charge all cannabis consumers the state sales tax of 4.6%. Recreational consumers pay an additional 10% in excise taxes, but medical users are exempt from this tax. Cannabis tax revenues are allocated by the state budget; Reno uses tax revenues to benefit local public schools and homelessness programs.