Marijuana dispensaries in Florida
Marijuana dispensaries in Florida
Visiting a Dispensary in Florida
From epic amusement parks and beaches, to incredible nightlife and art, Florida’s amazing mix of fun and relaxation allows for medical mariijuana use with a license, which can be purchased at a Miami dispensary. Recreational marijuana use is illegal, however.
The Lowdown on Florida Cannabis Laws
In 2014, the state moved to legalize some very limited use of cannabis. The passage of the Compassionate Medical Cannabis Act allowed only the most seriously ill people to gain access to cannabis for relief. The law also put in place the Office of Compassionate Use, which oversees all of Florida’s cannabis medical program oversight.
The Florida Right to Try Act was put in place in 2015 to allow those who are seriously ill to use experimental treatments of medications, including cannabis products. Medical use of marijuana in the state was more formally approved in 2016 under the Florida Medical Marijuana Legalization Initiative, also called Amendment 2. This law expanded the access to the drug to cover more conditions and enabled more people to gain access. It also replaced the Office of Compassionate Use with the Office of Medical Marijuana Use.
Recreational Cannabis Laws in Florida
There’s no access to recreational cannabis under the state’s laws, and using marijuana without a medical card carries a high risk of fines and jail time.
Medical Cannabis Laws in Florida
It’s legal to purchase cannabis at a Miami dispensary for patients with a medical marijuana card. This process is managed under the Florida Department of Health’s Office of Medical Marijuana Use.
Individuals may qualify to receive this card if they have a formal diagnosis from a recognized medical doctor of one or more of the recognized conditions:
Post-traumatic stress disorder
Other conditions may apply as well—in each situation, the severity of the condition is considered. If other treatments are acceptable, those are to be used. Medical cannabis is approved for people with a terminal illness, as well as for instances in which experimental treatment is the last hope
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Florida
To purchase medical marijuana, patients or caregivers must have an active identification card. To apply, an individual must:
Submit an application to the department (this must be done annually)
Create a login for the Medical Marijuana Use Registry and complete the online application
Provide a photo and proof of residency
Provide their physician’s name and contact information for diagnosis verification
Applications take about 10 days, and include a $75 processing fee.
Where is it Legal to Consume Cannabis in Florida
Medical cannabis is only legal to consume in private locations, no matter the form. It’s illegal to consume marijuana in public, including on school campuses, federal property, in any motor vehicle, or in a workplace.
How to Buy Cannabis at a Florida Dispensary
All cannabis in Florida is sold solely in dispensaries for medicinal purposes, and is only sold to patients and caregivers with a medical marijuana card. Authorized dispensaries are typically open from 10am-5pm, although some do stay open later. Some dispensaries offer pick-up, delivery, and/or online sales.
Cannabis Taxes in Florida
In Florida, medical marijuana is exempt from sales and use taxes. When sold through a Medical Marijuana Treatment Center to a qualified patient, there is no sales tax applicable.