Weed dispensaries in Oklahoma
Weed dispensaries in Oklahoma
Visiting a Dispensary in Oklahoma
From rolling prairies and ancient mountain ranges, to modern cities and unique historical hotspots, the state of Oklahoma offers a fascinating mix of sites and experiences—as well as legal access to medical marijuana. Recreational marijuana use remains illegal, although CBD oil that comes from industrial hemp is legal in the state without a license.
Cannabis Dispensary Maps Oklahoma
The Lowdown on Oklahoma Cannabis Laws
Cannabis was initially banned in Oklahoma in 1933. In 2015, the state passed HB 2154, which allowed for the sale of CBD oil with no more than 0.3% THC. In January 2018, Oklahoma became the 30th state to legalize medicinal marijuana with the passage of the Oklahoma State Question 788, and the first dispensary opened that August. Today, medical cannabis can be purchased with a medical card from an authorized Oklahoma dispensary.
Recreational Cannabis Laws in Oklahoma
It remains illegal to use cannabis in Oklahoma for recreational purposes or for any use without a license. A person with up to 1.5 ounces may face a misdemeanor conviction and a fine of up to $400.
Medical Cannabis Laws in Oklahoma
Medical marijuana use is legal in the state of Oklahoma. Those with a medical marijuana license can possess up to:
3 Ounces of marijuana
6 Mature marijuana plants
6 Seedling plants
1 Ounce of concentrated cannabis
72 Ounces of edibles
8 Ounces of marijuana in their home
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Oklahoma
Patients must obtain a medical marijuana card to use cannabis for medical reasons. The state does not have a list of specific approved medical conditions, and instead use recommendations from a physician on when cannabis may be beneficial.
To apply, individuals can fill out a patient application form online at the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority website and:
Obtain a patient physician recommendation form from the agency
Have a physician complete the necessary information and send the recommendation directly to the agency (for patients under the age of 18, two physician recommendations from two independent doctors must be provided instead of one)
Set up an account on the site and verify identification
Pay the necessary $100 fee (reduced costs may be available; check the agency website for more information)
Complete the application online
Once approved, the license is valid for up to two years.
Where is it Legal to Consume Cannabis in Oklahoma
All cannabis purchases must be made at a state-licensed Oklahoma dispensary. Cannabis use is legal in private residences, and in some private commercial settings (but never where tobacco use is banned). It’s not legal to use cannabis in public, including near schools, daycare centers, or youth recreational programs. It’s also illegal to use cannabis on any federal land.
How to Buy Cannabis at an Oklahoma Dispensary
Marijuana can be purchased from an Oklahoma dispensary with proof of ID and a medical marijuana card. Dispensaries are generally open from 9am-6pm, though some are available as late as 10pm.
Cannabis Taxes in Oklahoma
There’s a 7% excise tax on all cannabis purchases in the state. There may also be additional local taxes based on which jurisdiction the dispensary is in. All taxes collected for cannabis go toward the general fund to be allocated where needed.