Marijuana dispensaries in Phoenix, AZ
Marijuana dispensaries in Phoenix, AZ
Visiting a Phoenix dispensary
Phoenix is the Valley of the Sun — and thanks to recent changes to cannabis law, Phoenix has recently become one of the country’s hottest destinations for weed tourism. After legalizing recreational cannabis in 2020, Arizona is enjoying a major boom in its cannabis industry, which could lead to more consumers visiting Phoenix dispensaries. Here’s what potential visitors need to know about state and city cannabis laws.
Cannabis laws in Phoenix, Arizona
Arizona developed a legal medical marijuana program in 2010, and after a few years of back-and-forth, voters legalized recreational cannabis in 2020. As the state capital, Phoenix allows residents and visitors to access safe, legal medical and recreational cannabis at licensed dispensaries, while more rural cities around Arizona have restricted or prohibited cannabis consumption.
Recreational cannabis in Phoenix
Adults aged 21 years and older are allowed to purchase, possess, and consume cannabis acquired from a Phoenix dispensary. Users are restricted to possessing up to an ounce of dry flower or five grams of concentrates at a time, but users are allowed to grow up to six plants — or up to 12 plants per households with more than one qualified adult — for personal use. Adults can gift small amounts of cannabis to other adults, but these gifts cannot exceed the possession limit and cannot be recompensed in any way.
Phoenix medical cannabis laws
Medical marijuana patients in Phoenix must apply to the Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) to acquire a valid license for cannabis-based treatment from Phoenix dispensaries. Patients must suffer from a qualifying condition to apply, and patients under 18 years of age must have their treatment supervised by a parent or adult guardian. Out-of-state medical marijuana cardholders can legally visit medical cannabis dispensaries in Phoenix by applying for reciprocity from ADHS.
Qualified patients can purchase up to 2.5 ounces of dry flower over a 14-day period. Patients are also allowed to cultivate cannabis at home, as long as cultivation occurs in a space restricted from public view and access.
How to get a medical marijuana card in Phoenix
In Phoenix, prospective medical marijuana patients apply directly to ADHS through an online portal. Application requirements vary depending on the type of patient seeking cannabis treatment.
Patients over 18 need to submit a written recommendation from an Arizona-licensed physician stating that cannabis is advisable for the treatment of a qualifying health condition. Adult patients also need to submit a copy of photo ID to verify in-state residency.
Patients under 18 need two written recommendations from different physicians advocating for cannabis treatment. Patients and their parents or guardians must also listen to the risks and benefits of cannabis treatment, and patients must accept that adult caregivers have complete control over acquisition, dosage, and administration of cannabis products.
All applicants must pay a $150 processing fee at submission. The ADHS will accept or deny applications within 10 days and issue medical marijuana cards after an additional five days. Upon receipt of their card, patients can visit and make purchases from a Phoenix dispensary with medical marijuana products.
Where is it legal to consume cannabis in Phoenix?
Phoenix has strict consumption laws, restricting recreational users to consuming in private, away from public view. Homeowners can consume on their property, and renters should seek the approval of landlords before partaking. Medical cannabis users are allowed to publicly consume discreet cannabis products, like edibles and oils, as long as they do not do so in ways that endanger themselves or others. At present, consumption on Phoenix dispensary property is expressly prohibited.
How much does cannabis cost in Phoenix?
Exact prices will vary depending on the quality of the product, the brand, the dispensary location within the city, and more. On average, a gram of dry cannabis flower costs about $12, but buying in bulk can reduce the per-gram price. Concentrate costs are more difficult to estimate, but users should expect to pay at least double the flower price for products like oils, tinctures, edibles, and dabs.
Cannabis taxes in Phoenix
For recreational cannabis products, Phoenix dispensaries charge consumers applicable sales taxes for Maricopa County and Phoenix, which currently amount to 8.6%. Additionally, recreational cannabis is subject to an exorbitant excise tax of 16%. On medical marijuana purchases, dispensaries levy only a 6.6% sales tax. Tax revenues collected by Arizona fund the state’s medical marijuana program, and those collected by Phoenix are allocated to educational programs, like community colleges, and infrastructure repair.