Cannabis laws vary between states and countries. We help clear up the confusion with a look at laws and regulations around the world so you can be aware of your rights at home and abroad.

Alabama

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

There are no regulations for sales of CBD products that fall below the 0.3% THC threshold. Businesses or individuals that sell any cannabis product containing more than the legal amount of THC can be charged with a felony, face a sentence of two to 20 years in prison, and a fine of up to $30,000. Sales of cannabis to a minor can be punishable by a 10 years-to-life sentence and a maximum $60,000 fine. Consumption of CBD is legal anywhere. Consumption of marijuana with more than 0.3% THC is illegal everywhere in Alabama.  

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
Not specified
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

The Alabama Department of Agriculture and Industries requires seed and crop testing to confirm that the CBD product contains less than 0.3% THC. It also requires processors to test for pesticides in accordance with existing agricultural pesticide laws. There are no requirements for posting test results on labels or in stores. But retailers are required to keep the test results for each product and provide those to customers who ask.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Alabama does not have a medical marijuana program, though anyone is able to consume hemp-derived CBD products containing 0.3% THC or less. This page was last updated September 24, 2020.

Alaska

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Under Measure 2, adults 21 and older are able to purchase and consume cannabis from state-licensed retailers and establishments with a valid onsite consumption endorsement. They are able to purchase up to 1 ounce (28.35 grams) of marijuana, 7 grams of cannabis concentrate, or total cannabis with fewer than 5.6 grams of THC. Adults looking to consume cannabis onsite are limited to purchasing no more than 1 gram with a limit of 10 milligrams of THC per transaction. Public cannabis consumption is prohibited by state law. Legal consumption may occur on private property or in an establishment with a valid onsite consumption endorsement. Adults can consume flower, edibles, concentrates, oils, tinctures, salves, drinks, patches, and topical cannabis products.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
21+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
1oz
Recreational
1oz
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
1oz
Recreational
1oz
Medical
Required Testing

Cannabinoid analysis (THC, THCA, CBD, CBDA, CBN) Bacterial screening Mold screening Poisons, toxins, harmful chemicals Residual solvents Pesticides

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Cachexia, or wasting syndrome Cancer Chronic or severe pain Glaucoma HIV/AIDS Multiple sclerosis Persistent muscle spasms Seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy Severe nausea This page was last updated on September 14, 2020. 

Arizona

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Only patients and caregivers in the ADHS registry with identification cards can purchase medical marijuana from a nonprofit state-licensed dispensary. If patients are unable to make the purchase themselves, they may designate a caregiver to purchase the medical marijuana on their behalf. There are also many delivery services available throughout the state. Cannabis consumption must take place in a private space. The smoking of cannabis in any public place is prohibited. The only form of public consumption allowed for patients is cannabis-infused edibles. Consumption of cannabis in a parked car in any public space or in the view of the public is also prohibited.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
2.5oz
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
2.5oz
Medical
Required Testing

There was no lab testing required by the state until 2019 when Arizona lawmakers unanimously passed SB1494 which stipulates mandatory lab testing for all medical cannabis products to begin on November 1, 2020. 

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Alzheimer’s disease Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig’s disease Cancer Crohn’s Disease Glaucoma Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Post-traumatic stress disorder A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition, or the treatment of such a condition that includes: Cachexia, or wasting syndrome Seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy Severe and chronic pain Severe nausea Severe or persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis This page was last updated September 14, 2020.

Arkansas

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

All medical marijuana products must be purchased through medical marijuana dispensaries registered with the state. Patients must show their medical marijuana ID card to purchase from a dispensary. Caregivers are allowed to purchase medical marijuana for their designated patient, provided they show their designated caregiver registry card. Arkansas patients may consume medical marijuana only in their homes. Consumption in public is not allowed. 

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
2.5oz / 70.87 g
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
2.5oz / 74 mL
Medical
Required Testing

The ADH requires cannabis in the state to be tested by an analytical testing laboratory for the following: Microbiological contaminants Solvents Water activity and moisture content Cannabinoid concentrations (CBD and THC) Heavy Metals

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, or Lou Gehrig’s disease Alzheimer’s disease Cachexia, or wasting syndrome Cancer Crohn’s disease Fibromyalgia Glaucoma Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Intractable pain, defined as pain that has not responded to ordinary medications, treatment, or surgical measures for more than six months Peripheral neuropathy Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy Severe arthritis Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis Severe nausea Tourette’s syndrome Ulcerative colitis Any other medical condition or its treatment approved by the ADH This page was last updated on September 14, 2020.

California

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Adults 21 and older may purchase marijuana from any state-licensed dispensary, regardless of patient status. Delivery services are available throughout the state.  Cannabis consumption must take place in a private space. Onsite consumption is permitted inside businesses or spaces that hold a commercial cannabis consumption license. Smoking or vaping in a designated non-smoking area is an infraction. Consumption in a motor vehicle is not allowed, neither while driving nor while riding as passengers.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
21+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
28.35g
Recreational
8oz
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
8g
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

California testing regulations require cannabis products be analyzed for the following: Cannabinoids Moisture content Residual solvents and processing chemicals Residual pesticides Microbial impurities (i.e. A. fumigatis, E. coli, and salmonella) Foreign material Terpenoids Mycotoxins  Heavy metals  Water activity testing of solid or semisolid edibles 

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

AIDS Anorexia Arthritis Cachexia, or wasting syndrome Cancer Chronic pain Glaucoma Migraine Persistent muscle spasms Seizures Severe nausea Any other chronic or persistent medical condition that limits the ability of the patient to conduct one or more major life activities This page was last updated on August 28, 2020.

Colorado

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Adults 21 and older and medical marijuana patients may legally purchase marijuana from any state-licensed dispensary. If patients are unable to make the transaction themselves, they may also designate a caregiver to purchase and deliver medical marijuana on their behalf. Patients may choose to purchase from dispensaries that only sell to registered patients. It is legal to consume medical or recreational cannabis in private. Colorado also licenses “hospitality establishments” — lounges, tasting rooms, and other locations where customers can purchase and consume marijuana and marijuana-infused products.  It is illegal to use or consume cannabis in a motor vehicle, and it is illegal to drive under the influence of cannabis.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
21+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
1oz
Recreational
2oz
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
8g
Recreational
56g
Medical
Required Testing

The CDOR requires that all cannabis harvested for adult use must be tested to meet certain quality and safety control standards. Labs test for: Cannabinoid potency Chemicals Microbes (bacteria and fungi) Residual solvents Metals Pesticides Mycotoxins

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Any condition for which a physician could prescribe an opioid Autism spectrum disorder Cachexia, or wasting syndrome Cancer Glaucoma HIV/AIDS Persistent muscle spasms Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Seizures Severe nausea Severe pain This page was last updated October 6, 2020.

Connecticut

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Registered patients and registered primary caregivers may purchase medical cannabis from licensed dispensaries. Individuals may not purchase an amount of cannabis that would cause them to exceed possession limits of 2.5 ounces (57 grams) per month. Patients designate a licensed dispensary when they apply for a medical marijuana card. Registered patients in Connecticut may ingest their cannabis medicine only in private spaces. Connecticut law prohibits medical cannabis use on public transportation, in the workplace, on school or university campuses, in public places, or in the presence of anyone younger than 18 (which applies to private use as well). The law also prohibits the use of medical marijuana that would endanger the health or well-being of another person.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
2.5 ounces
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
2.5 ounces
Medical
Required Testing

Licensed producers must use a state-licensed lab to test every batch of cannabis for quality assurance. Laboratories must test samples for: Active ingredients Heavy metals Microbiological contaminants Mycotoxins Pesticides

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig’s disease Cachexia, or wasting disease Cancer Cerebral palsy Chronic pain Crohn’s disease Cystic fibrosis Epilepsy Fibromyalgia, including associated neuropathic pain or spasticity Glaucoma HIV/AIDS Hydrocephalus, or cranial fluid buildup, with an intractable headache Interstitial cystitis Intractable headache syndromes Median arcuate ligament syndrome Multiple sclerosis Muscular dystrophy Nervous tissue or spinal cord damage or injuries, including irreversible spinal cord injury with intractable spasticity Osteogenesis imperfecta, or brittle bone disease Parkinson’s disease Postherpetic neuralgia, or shingles Post-laminectomy syndrome with chronic radiculopathy, or failed back syndrome Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Psoriatic arthritis and severe psoriasis Severe rheumatoid arthritis Sickle cell disease Terminal illness requiring end-of-life care Tourette syndrome Ulcerative colitis Uncontrolled intractable seizure disorder Vulvodynia and vulvar burning Patients younger than 18 must be diagnosed with one of the following conditions: Cerebral palsy Cystic fibrosis Intractable Neuropathic Pain Irreversible spinal cord Injury with intractable spasticity Muscular dystrophy Osteogenesis imperfecta, or brittle bone disease Severe epilepsy Terminal illness requiring end-of-life care Tourette syndrome Uncontrolled intractable seizure disorder This page was last updated October 1, 2020. 

Delaware

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Patients and caregivers may only purchase medical cannabis from an OMM-registered compassion center. If patients are unable to make the purchase themselves, they may designate a caregiver to buy and deliver medical cannabis on their behalf. Patients and caregivers are limited to purchasing only 3 ounces (85 grams) of processed cannabis every 14 days. Cannabis consumption must take place in a private space. Delaware law prohibits consuming cannabis in public, in a parked motor vehicle, or on private property where tobacco smoking is forbidden.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
6oz
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
6oz
Medical
Required Testing

All cannabis sold in the state of Delaware must undergo testing for: Cannabinoids Foreign matter Microbes Residual solvents Terpenes

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Qualifying conditions Alzheimer’s disease Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig’s disease Cachexia, or wasting syndrome Cancer Chronic debilitating migraines Glaucoma Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Intractable epilepsy Intractable nausea Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Seizure disorder Severe autism Severe, persistent muscle spasms, including multiple sclerosis Severe, debilitating pain that has not responded to previously prescribed medication Terminal illness This page was last updated October 6, 2020. 

District of Columbia

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Unless you are a registered patient, it is not legal to purchase weed in DC. Under Initiative 59, a patient or caregiver shall only purchase or consume medical cannabis from the registered dispensary designated on their patient registration identification card. You can find a list of currently registered dispensaries on the DCDOH website.    Consumption of medical cannabis in the District of Columbia is limited to the patient’s home or private property. The use of medical marijuana in public remains a criminal offense.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
21+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
2oz
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
2oz
Medical
Required Testing

The Medical Marijuana Reciprocity Act, which became effective February 17, 2017, added requirements for cannabis testing labs. The act requires testing for the concentration of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) and cannabidiol (CBD); whether the tested material is organic or non-organic; the presence and concentration of fertilizers and other nutrients; and other information that the department requires.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

The Medical Marijuana Expansion Emergency Amendment Act of 2014 defines a qualifying medical condition as, “any condition for which treatment with medical marijuana would be beneficial, as determined by the patient’s physician.” Those wishing to become medical marijuana certification providers must apply with the DCDOH. This page was last updated September 25, 2020.

Florida

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Registry Identification Cards allow patients to purchase medical marijuana. The ID cards must be presented when making a purchase at an approved MMTC. The cards are used by law enforcement and other individuals to verify that a legal patient is a part of the statewide database.  Marijuana may not be consumed in any public place; on a school campus; in the workplace, unless permitted by the employer (smoking is prohibited indoors); or aboard a motor vehicle, public bus, train, aircraft, or watercraft. Consumption must take place in a private residence. Driving under the influence of marijuana is illegal.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
18, or a minor with a caregiver
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
4 oz.
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
70-day supply
Medical
Required Testing

MMTCs must submit cannabis samples to a licensed lab testing facility. Samples must be tested for: Cannabinoids Heavy metals Microbes Moisture and water activity Pesticides Residual solvents

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig’s disease Cancer Crohn’s disease Epilepsy Glaucoma HIV/AIDS Multiple sclerosis (MS) Parkinson’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) A terminal condition diagnosed by a physician other than the qualified physician issuing the physician certification Chronic nonmalignant pain caused by a qualifying medical condition Medical conditions comparable to those above This page was last updated September 25, 2020.

Georgia

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

N/A

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
Not specified
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
20 oz
Medical
Required Testing

Producers must use a state-approved lab to test low-THC oil for: Foreign matter Heavy metals Microbes Pesticides Potency Residual solvents 

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Most of these conditions must be severe and/or end stage: Alzheimer’s disease Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig’s disease Autism spectrum disorder Cancer Crohn’s disease Epidermolysis bullosa HIV/AIDS Hospice care patients Intractable pain Mitochondrial disease Multiple sclerosis Parkinson’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Peripheral neuropathy Seizures Sickle cell disease Tourette’s syndrome This page was last updated October 6, 2020. 

Guam

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Adults over the age of 21 can purchase cannabis at any licensed cannabis establishment. As of October 2019, the CCB is still in the process of promulgating production and retail sales rules, which are legally required to go through a public review process hindered by pandemic quarantine restrictions. In the meantime, adults are allowed to grow six plants at home and possess up to 1 ounce (28 grams).  For both adults and patients, consumption is only legal to consume in private. 

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
21+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
1 oz
Recreational
2.5 oz
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

All marijuana must be tested by a state-approved lab for: Active ingredients Cannabinoid concentration Contaminants Fertilizer and other nutrients Fungus Heavy metals Molds Pesticides

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

A patient qualifies for medical marijuana if they have been admitted to hospice care or have one of the following conditions:   Cancer Epilepsy Glaucoma  HIV/AIDS  Multiple sclerosis  PTSD  Rheumatoid arthritis  Spinal cord injury or related condition that causes intractable spasticity  The list also includes any condition “for which the qualified patient’s practitioner has determined that the use of medical cannabis may provide relief.” This page was last updated October 15, 2020.

Hawaii

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Patients can purchase medical cannabis from state-regulated dispensaries on Kauai, Oahu, Molokai, Maui, and Hawaii. Patients and caregivers may not purchase more than 4 ounces (113 grams) of cannabis within a period of 15 consecutive days, or no more than 8 ounces (227 grams) within a period of 30 consecutive days. Patients or caregivers transporting cannabis must keep it in a sealed container out of view. Transporting cannabis between islands is illegal.  Consumption is only allowed in private. Smoking and vaping medical cannabis is allowed in private areas that aren’t designated a smoke-free location.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
4oz
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
4oz
Medical
Required Testing

All cannabis products must be tested for the following: active ingredients cannabinoid profile (including THC) heavy metals pesticides solvents moisture content microbial contaminants intestinal bacteria and pathogens dangerous molds that can cause infection and disease toxins produced by molds

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (Lou Gehrig’s disease) Cancer Cachexia, or wasting syndrome Epilepsy Glaucoma HIV/AIDS Lupus Muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis or Crohn’s disease Multiple sclerosis Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Rheumatoid Arthritis Seizures Severe nausea Severe pain Patients or physicians can petition the DOH to add new conditions.  This page was last updated October 22, 2020. 

Idaho

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

While Idaho is ripe with potatoes, marijuana is not legally found in the state.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

N/A This page was last updated October 22, 2020. 

Illinois

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Registered patients and caregivers may legally purchase medical cannabis at a dispensary. Patients and caregivers may purchase up to 2.5 ounces (71 grams) of usable cannabis per 14-day period. Qualifying patients may purchase medical cannabis only from their chosen dispensary, as indicated in their initial registry application form. A patient can change their selected dispensary at any time free of charge by completing the Medical Cannabis Selection Form.  Adults over the age of 18 can purchase cannabis for recreational use at any one of Illinois’ many adult-use dispensaries.  Consuming cannabis in any public place or where it would reasonably endanger the health or well-being of another person is prohibited. Consumption on school grounds is prohibited, with the exception of minors who may bring their medicine to school and consume under the supervision of a parent, guardian, caregiver, or school nurse. Minors are not allowed to smoke or vape cannabis.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
21+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
30g
Recreational
30g
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
5g
Recreational
5g
Medical
Required Testing

Cannabis and cannabis products must be tested for cannabinoid profiles, pesticides, microbiological contaminants, mycotoxins, and residual solvents.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

The most current list of qualifying conditions is available on the Illinois Department of Health website: www.dph.illinois.gov. This page was last updated September 29, 2020.

Indiana

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

CBD oil is the only legal form of marijuana allowed in the state on Indiana. On Wednesday, Mar. 21, 2018 Gov. Eric Holcomb signed Act 52 into law. Act 52 enables anyone to buy, sell, or possess CBD oil. The CBD oil must be under 0.3% THC and be derived from hemp rather than marijuana.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
Not specified
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

There is currently no lab testing required by the state.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

N/A This post was updated October 22, 2020.

Iowa

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Registered patients or caregivers can purchase medical CBD from one of Iowa’s licensed dispensaries. Patients are allowed to buy products containing up to 4.5 grams of total THC in a 90-day period. Treating physicians can recommend more THC for terminally ill patients or others who haven’t been helped enough by 4.5 grams per 90 days. Iowa's medical cannabidiol statutes do not mention where patients can consume their medication. Most forms are oral - tablets, capsules, tinctures - so consumption shouldn’t be an issue. Vaping is likely not allowed anywhere smoking is prohibited. 

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
Not specified
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
Restricted
Medical
Required Testing

Labs will test for: Cannabinoids Metals Microbiological impurities Pesticides Potency  Solvents

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig’s disease Cancer with severe or chronic pain, nausea or severe vomiting, or cachexia (wasting disease) Chronic pain Corticobasal degeneration Crohn’s disease HIV/AIDS Multiple sclerosis with severe and persistent muscle spasms Parkinson’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Seizures Severe, intractable autism with self-injurious or aggressive behavior Ulcerative colitis Terminal illness with a probable life expectancy of under one year if the illness or its treatment produces one or more of the following: Cachexia, or severe wasting disease Nausea or severe vomiting Severe or chronic pain Nausea or severe vomiting Cachexia (wasting disease) This page was last updated October 23, 2020.

Kansas

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Only CBD with 0% THC is legal in the state. Kansas law places no restrictions on where CBD can be consumed but it may not be smoked or vaporized in flower form, as many cannabis consumption accessories are criminalized as drug paraphernalia.  Patients or parents of minor patients with debilitating medical conditions who possess CBD oil with less than 5% THC can avoid criminal conviction with a letter from their physician. But they can still be arrested, charged, and taken to court.  Possession of even small, personal amounts of marijuana is a Class B misdemeanor punishable by up to six months in prison and a $1,000 fine for the first offense.  

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

CBD products must be labeled by the manufacturer and seller to list a description of all contents, a statement of CBD purity, and a health warning that consuming CBD could be hazardous to a user’s health. According to the proposed regulations for the Industrial Hemp Research Program, license holders must pay $47 per hour for an initial sample collection and sample testing fee of $250 for each lab test. The lab test is to determine whether the hemp sample contains any THC. If a sample contains greater than 0.3% THC per weight, all hemp plants in the sample’s growing area must be destroyed.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Kansas has no state-regulated medical program, but individuals can buy CBD products in the legalized forms that contain zero THC. This page was last updated October 23, 2020.

Kentucky

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

It is illegal to purchase, cultivate and/or consume marijuana in Kentucky. The only cannabis Kentucky residents can legally purchase and possess is hemp-derived CBD products with no more than 0.3% THC.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
Not specified
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

Hemp growers are required to test their plant material extracts to determine the THC content of each final batch produced. The lab test results must confirm that the extract and final product contains no more than three-tenths of one percent (0.3%) of THC content.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Since there is no medical marijuana program in Kentucky, there are no qualifying conditions that allow patients to use medical cannabis products. This page was last updated October 23, 2020.

Louisiana

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Once a patient has been seen by a credentialed physician and that physician has transmitted a medical marijuana recommendation (including dosage) to the pharmacy, a patient can make a purchase. The Board of Pharmacy adopted rules specifying allowed forms of medical marijuana in Louisiana.  Unprocessed forms of cannabis, including flower, are illegal for possession and consumption.  Patients cannot consume medical marijuana in public. 

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
No Age Limit
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
30-day supply
Medical
Required Testing

Each batch of cannabis produced in the state must be tested by an LDAF-approved lab. Random samples from each batch are tested for: Active ingredients (THC, THCA, CBD, CBDA) and potency Heavy metals Microbiological contaminants Mycotoxins Pesticides Residual solvents Products can contain no more than 10 milligrams of THC per dose. 

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

The following conditions qualify a Louisiana patient for medical cannabis use: Alzheimer’s disease Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (Lou Gehrig’s disease) Cachexia, or wasting syndrome Cancer Chronic pain associated with fibromyalgia or sickle cell disease Concussion Crohn’s disease Epilepsy Glaucoma HIV/AIDS Hospice or palliative care Huntington’s disease Intractable pain Lewy-body dementia Motor-neuron disease Multiple sclerosis Muscular dystrophy Parkinson’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Seizure disorders Severe muscle spasms Spastic quadriplegia Spasticity Spinal muscular atrophy Traumatic brain injury Patients may receive a medical marijuana recommendation in the course of a bona fide patient-physician relationship, wherein their physician conducts an in-person examination, creates and maintains medical records, and is responsible for the ongoing care and treatment of the patient’s qualifying debilitating medical condition. Only Louisiana residents are eligible.

Maine

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Medical marijuana cardholders and recreational customers can find licensed dispensaries in Maine and search by major metro areas including Augusta, Bangor, and Portland. Many dispensaries in Maine offer delivery and curbside pickup services in addition to storefront sales. Cannabis consumption must take place in a private space such as one's home or other private property. Consuming cannabis or cannabis-infused products in public is subject to a $100 fine. Use of marijuana in a parked car or in public view is also prohibited. Driving a motor vehicle under the influence of cannabis is illegal.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
21+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
2.5oz
Recreational
2.5oz
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
5g
Recreational
2.5oz
Medical
Required Testing

Maine requires that all marijuana and marijuana products be tested for: Cannabinoids Fungicides Harmful chemicals Herbicides Poisons Microbes Mildew Mold Pesticides Residual solvents

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

There is no list of qualifying conditions for medical marijuana applicants. A medical practitioner can recommend marijuana for any medical condition they believe may be alleviated by marijuana. This page was last updated September 25, 2020.

Maryland

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

MMCC has set the purchase limit at 120 grams (4 ounces) of usable cannabis or 36 grams (1 ounce) total THC in a rolling 30-day period. Physicians can recommend more. Edible cannabis products are not available from dispensaries in Maryland since cannabis-infused food and beverages are prohibited.  Patients and caregivers can only purchase medical marijuana from state-licensed dispensaries. If patients are unable to make the purchase themselves, they may designate up to two caregivers to buy and deliver medical marijuana on their behalf. Some dispensaries may deliver medical marijuana to the patient’s home. Cannabis consumption must take place on private property. Consuming cannabis in public, in a parked or moving vehicle, or where smoking is forbidden is against the law. Riding a bicycle under the influence of cannabis also is illegal.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
Varies
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
Varies
Medical
Required Testing

The MMCC requires growers to contract with independent testing laboratories to ensure that all safety and quality assurance requirements are met. Certified labs must test for the following: Cannabinoids and potency Foreign matter Heavy metals Microbiological contaminants Pesticides Potency Residual solvents

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Anorexia Cachexia, or wasting syndrome Conditions resulting in a patient receiving hospice or palliative care Glaucoma Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Seizures Severe or chronic pain Severe nausea Severe or persistent muscle spasms Other chronic, severe medical conditions if other treatments have been ineffective and the doctor believes medical cannabis can provide relief. Anyone can petition the MMCC to add medical conditions to the list.  This page was last updated October 27, 2020. 

Massachusetts

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Registered patients can purchase a 60-day supply of medical cannabis from any state-licensed dispensary. The 60-day supply is limited to 10 ounces, though the certifying health care provider can specify more on the patient’s certificate. There are medical marijuana delivery services available, and a designated caregiver may transport medical cannabis from a licensed dispensary or grow site to a registered patient. Medical marijuana is tax-exempt in Massachusetts.  Adults age 21 and older can purchase 1 ounce of cannabis or 5 grams of concentrate from licensed marijuana retailers. Adult-use cannabis is subject to a 6.25% sales tax, a 10.75% state excise tax, and a potential municipal tax of up to 3%. As such, most adult-use consumers could encounter a total tax rate of about 20%. Cannabis can be consumed on private property, but marijuana products cannot be smoked, eaten, or vaped in public. Furthermore, cannabis products cannot be smoked where tobacco smoking is prohibited. Adult-use consumers as well as registered patients and their caregivers can carry cannabis in their vehicles as long as it is in a sealed container in the trunk or a locked glove compartment.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
21+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
1 oz in public, 10 oz at home
Recreational
60 day supply
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
1 oz in public, 1.5 oz at home
Recreational
60 day supply
Medical
Required Testing

The Commission requires that all cannabis harvested for commercial and medical use, as well as all marijuana products, be tested for safety, quality control, and potency. Certified labs must test for the following: Cannabinoid profile and potency Fungal mycotoxins Heavy metals Microbiological contaminants Mycotoxins Pesticides Plant growth regulators Residual solvents Vape concentrates must also be tested for vitamin E acetate.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig’s disease Cancer Crohn’s disease Glaucoma Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Multiple sclerosis Parkinson’s disease Any other condition considered debilitating by the patient’s health-care provider may be a qualifying condition.  This page was last updated on October 29, 2020.

Michigan

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Medical marijuana patients may purchase cannabis from a state-licensed retailer. According to Michigan.gov, “The Marijuana Regulatory Agency (MRA) regulates the state’s medical marijuana facilities and licensees in accordance with the Medical Marihuana Facilities Licensing Act (MMFLA) and its associated administrative rules.”  Adult-use, or recreational, consumers may purchase cannabis from the state’s adult-use marijuana establishments, which are also regulated by the MRA.  Certified patients and adults 21 and older may consume cannabis at home or in a private space. With the exception of a few unique circumstances, consumption in public areas is illegal. Consuming medical marijuana in a privately owned vehicle is considered use in a public place and is also prohibited. Driving under the influence of cannabis is a violation of Michigan’s Drugged Driving laws. Universities that receive federal funding must also comply with drug-free campus regulations, which prohibit marijuana possession and consumption on campus.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
21+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
2.5 oz
Recreational
Varies
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
15 g
Recreational
Varies
Medical
Required Testing

Cannabis testing labs must test for the following: Cannabidiol (CBD) and cannabidiolic acid (CBDA) levels Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) and tetrahydrocannabinol acid (THCA) levels Terpene analysis Chemical residue Foreign matter inspection Fungicides, insecticides, and pesticides Metals screening Microbe and mycotoxin screening Moisture content Residual solvent levels

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

The MMMP reserves medical cannabis access for patients with the following debilitating medical conditions under Michigan’s medical marijuana laws: Alzheimer’s disease Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig’s disease Cancer Crohn’s disease Glaucoma Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Nail-patella syndrome The MMMP also reserves medical cannabis for chronic or debilitating conditions, or their treatments, that produce one or more of the following: Cachexia, or wasting syndrome Seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy Severe and chronic pain Severe nausea Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to those characteristic of multiple sclerosis This page was last updated September 25, 2020.

Minnesota

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Minnesota patients may purchase cannabis medicine at state-approved dispensaries. Most of the legal forms of medical cannabis are taken orally so consumption shouldn’t be much of an issue. Nonetheless, Minnesota law states that patients can’t do anything while under the influence of medical cannabis that would be considered negligent or lead to professional malpractice.  It forbids possessing or consuming cannabis medicine while operating a vehicle or while on a school bus or school grounds, in a correctional facility, or on the grounds of any child-care facility.  Vaping medical cannabis is forbidden in any public place, including public transportation, or where the vapor could be inhaled by a minor. 

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
30-day supply
Medical
Required Testing

According to Minnesota law, state-approved labs must test medical cannabis products for: Cannabinoids Metals Microbes Mycotoxins Pesticides Residual solvents

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Alzheimer’s disease Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig’s disease Autism Cachexia, or wasting disease Cancer, if the underlying condition or treatment causes severe or chronic pain, nausea, or severe vomiting Chronic or intractable pain Glaucoma HIV/AIDS Inflammatory bowel disease, including Crohn’s disease Obstructive sleep apnea Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Seizures, including epilepsy Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including multiple sclerosis Terminal illness with a probable life expectancy of less than a year if the illness or its treatment causes cachexia (severe wasting disease), nausea, or severe vomiting This page was last updated October 30, 2020.

Mississippi

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

CBD oil may only be obtained from the University of Mississippi Medical Center’s Department of Pharmacy Services. Qualified patients may consume approved cannabis-derived medicines in their home. Consumption in public is prohibited.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
Not specified
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

The only qualifying condition in Mississippi is debilitating epilepsy or related conditions. This page was last updated October 30, 2020.

Missouri

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Patients and caregivers with ID cards from DHSS can purchase medical marijuana from a state-licensed dispensary or have it delivered. Consumption is only legal in private. Missouri, unlike other states, has a specific provision for property owners to dedicate a consumption space for qualifying patients, who may be accompanied by family, a caregiver, or a physician. Property owners also may limit the use of medical marijuana to non-smokable forms of consumption.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
4 oz. (113 grams)
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
8 grams
Medical
Required Testing

Licensees are required to have cannabis tested by an independent laboratory. All hemp extract must be tested to meet the maximum potency requirements — less than 0.3% THC by weight, at least 5% CBD by weight, and containing no other psychoactive substances.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Alzheimer’s disease  Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, or Lou Gehrig’s disease  Autism Cachexia, or wasting syndrome Cancer Crohn’s disease Epilepsy  Glaucoma Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Huntington’s disease Inflammatory bowel disease Intractable migraines Neuropathy Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other debilitating psychiatric disorders Sickle cell disease Terminal illness Any chronic condition treated with a medication that could lead to dependence Chronic conditions causing severe, persistent pain or muscle spasms including: Multiple sclerosis  Parkinson’s disease Seizures Tourette’s syndrome This page was last updated on September 15, 2020.

Montana

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Registered patients 18 years of age and older can purchase cannabis from a dispensary storefront, have marijuana delivered by registered providers, or cultivate their own cannabis. Providers must be Montana residents, obtain business licenses, and undergo fingerprinting and criminal background checks. Dispensaries must also be registered and licensed. Owners must submit fingerprints and undergo a background check. If on leased space, dispensaries must have a permission form from the landlord. Public consumption is not allowed.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
1oz
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
1oz
Medical
Required Testing

The state has three laboratories to test medical marijuana. Cannabis is tested for moisture, content potency, contaminants, microbes, heavy metals, pesticides, residual solvents, and mycotoxins. Laboratory applicants must provide fingerprints and criminal background checks for owners, the scientific director and employees along with proof of permission to operate a lab from a landlord or property owner, and register and supply badges to all employees. The license fee is $2,000.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Cachexia or wasting syndrome Cancer Chronic pain that is persistent and significantly interferes with daily activities. Crohn’s disease Epilepsy or other intractable seizure disorder Glaucoma HIV/AIDS Intractable nausea or vomiting Multiple Sclerosis Muscle spasms Peripheral neuropathy Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) This page was last updated on September 14, 2020.

Nebraska

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Both medical and recreational marijuana have been illegal in Nebraska since 1927. Despite a recent survey of voters commissioned by the Marijuana Policy Project that showed 77 percent of Nebraskans would vote “yes” to allow medical cannabis, lawmakers have been unable bring the issue to the legislative floor.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

N/A This page was last updated on November 8, 2018

Nevada

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Patients, caregivers, and adults 21 and older can purchase and consume cannabis from licensed retailers or a Nevada dispensary. Recreational users pay a 10% excise tax. No one is allowed to purchase more than 1 ounce of cannabis at a time.  It is illegal to consume cannabis in any public space, therefore consumption must take place on private property, as long as the property owner has not prohibited it. Cannabis may not be used in any moving vehicle by the driver or passenger, and it is illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
21+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
1 oz
Recreational
2.5 oz per 14-day period
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
0.125 oz
Recreational
2.5oz per 14-day period
Medical
Required Testing

Labs must analyze for the following: Cannabinoids Foreign matter Heavy metals Microbes Moisture content Pesticide and other chemical residue Potency Solvents Terpenes

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Addiction to opioids Anorexia Anxiety disorder Autism Autoimmune disease Cancer Cachexia, or wasting syndrome Glaucoma HIV/AIDS Neuropathic conditions Persistent muscle spasms, including those caused by multiple sclerosis Seizures, including those caused by epilepsy Severe nausea or pain Any other chronic or debilitating medical condition as classified by the DPBH, or upon the acceptance of a petition to add a condition to Nevada’s recognized list of conditions. This page was last updated September 22, 2020.

New Hampshire

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

New Hampshire is one of the nation’s smallest states, but that doesn’t mean it has not made big strides in legalization. Medical marijuana may be purchased at a dispensary storefront, but cannot be consumed in public. There are no delivery services in the “Live Free or Die” State either.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
2 oz
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
2 oz
Medical
Required Testing

Each batch of cannabis grown within an ATC should be tested for its cannabinoid profile. Cannabinoids to be tested include THC, THCV, CBC, CBD, CBN, and CBG. These tests must be completed at an accredited testing lab. Water and soil tests also required.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, hepatitis C (currently receiving antiviral treatment), ALS, muscular dystrophy, Crohn's disease, Multiple Sclerosis, chronic pancreatitis, spinal cord injury or disease, traumatic brain injury, epilepsy, lupus, Parkinson's disease, Alzheimer's disease, or one or more injuries that significantly interferes with daily activities as documented by the patient's provider, or a severely debilitating or terminal medical condition or its treatment that has produced at least one of the following: elevated intraocular pressure, cachexia, chemotherapy-induced anorexia, wasting syndrome, agitation of Alzheimer's disease, severe pain that has not responded to previously prescribed medication or surgical measures or for which other treatment options produced serious side effects, constant or severe nausea, moderate to severe vomiting, seizures, or severe, persistent muscle spasms. This page was last updated on December 7, 2018.

New Jersey

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Adults 18 and older may purchase medical marijuana from Alternative Treatment Centers (ATCs), as long as patients have a physician’s recommendation. Medical patients pay 4% in sales tax though it’s set to be eliminated in July 2022. New Jersey medical marijuana patients may only consume cannabis in the privacy of their homes. Smoking medical marijuana falls under the same regulations as tobacco smoking in the Smoke-Free Air Act.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
2oz
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
2oz
Medical
Required Testing

The NJDOH must collect soil and plant samples, as well as samples of any product containing cannabis that is cultivated or sold by a medical marijuana dispensary or ATC. This testing process is to ensure quality control and safety for qualifying medical cannabis patients.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig’s disease Anxiety Cachexia, or wasting syndrome Chronic pain related to musculoskeletal disorders Chronic pain in the Internal organs, abdomen, or intestines HIV/AIDS Inflammatory bowel disease, including Crohn’s disease Migraines Muscular dystrophy Multiple sclerosis Nausea and vomiting Tourette’s syndrome Terminal cancer or illness, if the physician determines the patient has less than 12 months to live Opioid addiction Patients will also qualify if they are resistant to conventional therapy for: Glaucoma Intractable skeletal muscular spasticity Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Seizure disorder, including epilepsy This page was last updated on September 14, 2020. 

New Mexico

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Patients and caregivers can only purchase medical cannabis from state-licensed nonprofit producers. If patients are unable to make purchases themselves, a caregiver can purchase and deliver medical cannabis on their behalf. Additionally, state-licensed delivery services are available. Medical cannabis consumption is limited to private property out of public view. Patients and caregivers face criminal prosecution or civil penalties for possession, distribution, transfer, or use in a school bus or public transportation vehicle, school campuses, workplaces, public parks, recreation centers, or youth centers.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
8oz/90 days
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
8oz/90 days
Medical
Required Testing

The NMDOH requires state-licensed nonprofit producers to contract with at least one independent testing laboratory to ensure that all safety and quality assurance requirements are met. Certified labs must test for the following: Cannabinoids and potency Heavy metals Microbiological contaminants Moisture and water content Mycotoxins Pesticides Residual solvents

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Alzheimer’s Disease Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig’s disease Anorexia Autism Spectrum Disorder Cachexia, or wasting syndrome Cancer Cervical dystonia Crohn’s disease Epilepsy and seizure disorders Glaucoma Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Hospice care Huntington’s disease Inclusion-body myositis Inflammatory autoimmune-mediated arthritis Intractable nausea or vomiting Intractable spasticity Lewy body disease Multiple sclerosis Obstructive sleep apnea Opioid use disorder Peripheral neuropathy Parkinson’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Severe chronic pain Spinal cord damage Spinal muscular atrophy Ulcerative colitis This page was last updated September 28, 2020.

New York

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Certified patients can purchase medical cannabis from state-regulated organizations operating dispensaries throughout the state. Patients must bring their registry ID cards and certifications. Designated caregivers obtaining medical marijuana on behalf of patients need their caregiver registry identification cards and their patients’ certifications. Some registered organizations also offer online ordering. The Department of Health limits medical marijuana to non-smokable forms, including capsules, liquids, spray, oils, and vaporizer products. Edibles are prohibited under current law although food growers and processors can produce beverages and food infused with cannabidiol (CBD), a non-intoxicating cannabis compound.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
30 day supply
Recreational
30 day supply
Medical
Required Testing

All medical cannabis products must be tested by an independent laboratory certified by the Department of Health’s Environmental Laboratory Approval Program. Products are tested for their cannabinoid profile, as well as the following microbiological, metal, and chemical contaminants: Aflatoxin Antimony Arsenic Aspergillus Bile-tolerant gram-negative bacteria Cadmium Chromium Copper Escherichia coli (e. coli) Growth regulators used during production Klebsiella Lead Mercury Mucor species Nickel Ochratoxin Penicillium species Pesticides, herbicides, or fungicides used during production Pseudomonas, for products to be vaporized Salmonella Streptococcus Thermophilic Actinomycetes species Zinc Any other substance as required by the Commissioner of Health

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig’s disease Cancer Chronic pain that meets legal definitions, such as pain that lasts three months or more Epilepsy HIV/AIDS Huntington’s disease Inflammatory bowel disease Multiple sclerosis Neuropathy Opioid use or substance use disorder Parkinson’s disease Pain that degrades health and functional capability Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Spinal cord injury with spasticity A severe, debilitating, or life-threatening condition accompanied by one or more of the following associated or complicating conditions: Cachexia, or wasting syndrome Opioid use disorder Seizures Severe or chronic pain Severe nausea Severe or persistent muscle spasms  This page was last updated September 25, 2020.

North Carolina

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Caregivers are solely responsible for obtaining low-THC hemp extract on behalf of their patients. North Carolina does not currently have a state-regulated supply chain or any other state-sponsored method of obtaining CBD oil. Caregivers must purchase CBD in a state that offers reciprocity for its medical marijuana program. Consequently, North Carolina does not have a system in place that would allow caregivers to purchase low-THC hemp extract within the state.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
Not specified
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

There is currently no lab testing required by the state.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Intractable epilepsy This page was last updated on June 4, 2018.

North Dakota

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Only marijuana and cannabis products grown and produced within the state may be legally sold in North Dakota. Adult recreational use of cannabis is illegal in North Dakota. Only registered medical marijuana patients may legally purchase or possess cannabis. Patients seeking medical marijuana ID cards are required to obtain written certification from licensed health-care providers (physicians, advance practice nurses, and physician assistants only) before their applications are approved by the Department of Health’s Division of Medical Marijuana. They must pay a $50 application fee. It is illegal for anyone to give dry cannabis flowers or leaves or cannabis products to anyone else within North Dakota. Outside of existing state sales taxes, North Dakota does not impose any additional or specific excise or other taxes on the cultivation, manufacturing, or sale of medical marijuana. Traveling with cannabis: Registered North Dakota medical marijuana patients with valid medical marijuana ID cards may travel with the legal limits of medical cannabis within the state. They must show their state medical marijuana ID cards or be able to access their electronic medical marijuana ID card. The law does not address travel with cannabis, but state authorities have said that best practice is to keep cannabis products within their packages. Showing legal proof of purchase is not required under state law. Travel across state lines remains illegal federally. Patients seeking medical marijuana ID cards are required to obtain written certification from licensed healthcare providers before their applications are approved by the Department of Health’s Division of Medical Marijuana. Only physicians, advance practice nurses, and physician assistants may recommend and provide written certifications for medical marijuana. For registered patients 19 and older, North Dakota’s medical marijuana law allows dried leaves and flowers, cannabinoid concentrates or extracts, solutions, capsules, transdermal patches with a maximum of 50 milligrams of THC per dose, and topicals containing up to 6% THC per serving. Minors younger than 19 are prohibited from possessing dried cannabis leaves and flowers, or cannabis products with more than 6% THC. There are three possession limits for dried leaves and flowers. Certified patients and designated caregivers with valid medical marijuana ID cards can purchase up to 2 1/2 ounces, or 71 grams, of dried leaves and flowers in a 30-day period. Their ID card will list their limit as “standard.” Patients diagnosed with cancer may be authorized by their health-care provider to purchase up to 6 ounces, or 170 grams, of dried leaves and flowers and up to 4 grams of THC in a combustible delivery form, according to HB 1417. Their ID card categorizes their limits as “enhanced.” Dried leaves and flowers are illegal to purchase, possess or consume for patients younger than 19. Their ID card will list limits as “zero.” Smoking medical marijuana in public is governed by the same regulations restricting tobacco smoking in public. Those tobacco laws can be found online. North Dakota law prohibits the use of marijuana in public places and workplaces. State law prohibits the unwrapping of the packaged marijuana dried leaves and flowers or cannabis products within dispensaries, and forbids consumption or smoking of cannabis within dispensaries.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
19+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
2.5oz
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

North Dakota requires all medical marijuana grown and produced to be lab tested for strain, potency, pesticides, and contaminants. In April 2019, the state approved its first medical marijuana lab for testing cannabis. Pennsylvania-based Keystone State Testing, doing business as Dakota State Testing, performs tests at its Fargo lab.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Conditions to qualify a patient for a written certification for a medical marijuana card include: Agitation of Alzheimer's disease or related dementia Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig’s disease Anorexia nervosa Anxiety disorder Autism spectrum disorder Brain injury Bulimia nervosa Cancer Chronic back pain, including neuropathy or damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with intractable spasticity Crohn's disease Decompensated cirrhosis caused by hepatitis C Ehlers-Danlos syndrome, or elastic skin Endometriosis Epilepsy Fibromyalgia Glaucoma HIV/AIDS Interstitial cystitis Migraine Neuropathy Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Rheumatoid arthritis Spinal stenosis Terminal illness Tourette syndrome A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or their treatment that produces one or more of the following: Cachexia, or wasting syndrome Intractable nausea Seizures Severe debilitating pain that has not responded to previously prescribed medication or surgical measures for more than three months, or for which other treatment options produced serious side effects Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including multiple sclerosis. To apply for a medical marijuana ID card, patients must be 19 or older and a legal resident of North Dakota and able to prove residency through a state-issued ID or North Dakota driver’s license. They must review the online application and tutorials on the BioTrackTHC system. They must have a valid email address and click onto the registration site to create an account and password. On the same site, there are also instructions for minor patients and caregivers. Patients unable to complete the online account registration may call (701) 328-1311, email staff at medmarijuana@nd.gov, or write by mail the Division of Marijuana at 600 E. Boulevard Ave. Dept. 301, Bismarck, North Dakota 58505-0200. Patients applying must photocopy their North Dakota ID cards and submit two current passport-size photos with their application forms. Patients must enter their health-care provider’s name and email address when submitting their applications. Once the applicant has submitted the provider’s full name and email address, that provider will be notified to complete and submit the written certification. While applying patients must sign a medical information release, only providers submit written certification. Some veterans can qualify for an alternative written certification process. Patients must have an existing bona fide relationship with their health-care provider. Minors younger than 19 seeking medical marijuana ID cards must have their applications completed by parents or legal guardians. Minors also must present either a birth certificate or North Dakota-issued state ID, submit passport-size photos, provide contact information for parents or adult guardians, and pay a $50 application fee. This page was last updated on Sept. 18, 2019.

Ohio

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Marijuana can be consumed in a patient’s home by vaporizers, tinctures, oils, edibles, or patches

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

Marijuana products are tested for: Cannabinoids Microbiological contaminants Terpenes

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Alzheimer’s disease Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig’s disease Cancer Chronic traumatic encephalopathy Crohn’s disease Epilepsy or other seizure disorders Fibromyalgia Glaucoma Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Inflammatory bowel disease Multiple sclerosis Pain that is either chronic and severe, or intractable Parkinson’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Sickle cell anemia Spinal cord disease or injury Tourette’s syndrome Traumatic brain injury Ulcerative colitis This page was last updated on January 7, 2019.

Oklahoma

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Authorized patients and their designated caregivers may purchase medical cannabis from a state-licensed dispensary. If a patient’s physician certifies that the patient is unable to make the transaction on their own, the patient may designate one caregiver to purchase and transport medical cannabis on their behalf. Children younger than 18 can designate two caregivers who are parents or legal guardians. Common sense dictates that cannabis consumption should take place in a private space. But current OMMA rules make no mention of permissible consumption locations except to say that smoking or vaping medical marijuana is subject to the same laws as smoking tobacco. Operating any vehicle, including a bicycle, under the influence of cannabis is illegal. Consumption in a vehicle is prohibited at all times by either drivers or passengers.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
3 oz
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
1 oz
Medical
Required Testing

Cannabis growers and processors are required to use OMMA-licensed laboratories to test for the following: Contaminants and filth Heavy metals (testing for lead, arsenic, cadmium, and mercury is mandatory) Microbes Mycotoxins Pesticides; Residual solvents and chemical residue Terpenes THC potency Water activity and moisture content

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

There is no list of qualifying conditions, nor any specified criteria for patients to receive a physician’s recommendation. The physician must simply follow the same standards they would in recommending any other medication.  This page was last updated September 25, 2020.

Oregon

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

The Oregon Department of Revenue requires a 17% retail sales tax on cannabis and cannabis-infused products, and up to 3% in local taxes in some locations. Cannabis may only be purchased from an OLCC-licensed retailer. Medical marijuana patients and their caregivers can buy cannabis from an OLCC-sanctioned retailer or an OMMP-approved dispensary as long as they have photo identification and a valid OMMP card. Adults ages 21 and older can legally consume cannabis on private property. They are not allowed to consume recreational marijuana in a public place, including establishments such as bars and restaurants licensed to serve liquor. Consuming cannabis is also illegal in a parked car in public view, while driving, or riding as a passenger.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
21+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
28.35g
Recreational
28.35g
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
28.35g
Recreational
28.35g
Medical
Required Testing

Harvested medical and recreational cannabis, including marijuana-infused products, must be tested to ensure quality and safety. Testing is required for: Cannabinoid concentration Heavy metals Microbiological contaminants Moisture Pesticides Residual solvents Water activity

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Cancer Glaucoma A degenerative or pervasive neurological condition HIV/AIDS Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) A medical condition or treatment for a medical condition that results in one or more of the following: Cachexia, or wasting syndrome Persistent muscle spasms, including those associated with multiple sclerosis Seizures, including those caused by epilepsy Severe nausea Severe pain This page was last updated on September 18, 2020.

Pennsylvania

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Patients and caregivers must be added to the state’s registry and obtain a medical cannabis ID card in order to purchase medical marijuana from PDH-licensed dispensaries. Act 16 does not stipulate where cannabis consumption is allowed; however, cannabis consumption should take place in a private space such as a personal residence.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
Prohibited
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
30-day supply
Medical
Required Testing

Marijuana is tested for the following: Cannabinoid concentration (THC and CBD) Heavy metals Microbiological contaminants Mycotoxins Pesticides Solvents Terpenes Water activity and moisture content

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS, or Lou Gehrig’s disease) Anxiety disorders Autism Cancer, including remission therapy Chronic or intractable pain Crohn’s disease Damage to the brain or spinal cord Epilepsy Glaucoma HIV/AIDS Huntington’s disease Inflammatory bowel disease Intractable seizures Multiple sclerosis Neurodegenerative diseases Neuropathy Opioid addiction Parkinson’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Sickle cell anemia Spastic movement disorders Terminal illness Tourette syndrome This page was last updated September 28, 2020. 

Puerto Rico

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Registered patients with a valid medical marijuana program card can purchase cannabis at a state-approved dispensary.   Consumption is limited to private homes or private places where owners authorize the consumption of medical cannabis.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
2.5oz
Medical
Required Testing

There is currently no lab testing required by the state.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Alzheimer’s disease Anorexia Anxiety disorders Arthritis Autism Bipolar disorder Cancer and chemotherapy treatment for cancer Chronic pain Depression Degenerative diseases including amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) and multiple sclerosis (MS) Epilepsy Fibromyalgia Glaucoma Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Incurable and advanced diseases requiring palliative care Insomnia Inflammatory bowel disease Migraine Parkinson’s disease Persistent muscle spasms Peripheral neuropathies Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Severe nausea Spinal cord injury Any condition that causes cachexia, or wasting disease This page was last updated September 29, 2020.

Rhode Island

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Patients, caregivers, and authorized purchasers can obtain cannabis from one of three state licensed compassion centers. Cannabis consumption must take place on private property.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
2.5oz
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
2.5oz
Medical
Required Testing

The Rhode Island Department of Health has stipulated all medical cannabis harvested by licensed cultivators and registered compassion centers be tested for safety and quality control. However, the DOH has yet to draft or adopt any official state testing regulations.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Cachexia, or wasting syndrome Cancer or cancer treatment including chemotherapy and radiation therapy Glaucoma or glaucoma treatment Hepatitis C or treatment for hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Seizures, including but not limited to those characteristic of epilepsy Severe, debilitating, or chronic pain Severe nausea Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to those characteristic of: Multiple sclerosis Crohn’s disease Agitation related to Alzheimer’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) – patient must be 18 or older This page was last updated September 5, 2018.

South Carolina

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

South Carolina allows for the use of medical CBD products with a physician recommendation. Extracts with less 15% CBD or more and no more than .09% THC are acceptable.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
Not specified
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

There is currently no lab testing required by the state.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Lennox Gastaut Syndrome, Dravet Syndrome or any other severe form of epilepsy that is not adequately treated by traditional medical therapies, cachexia or wasting syndrome, severe or chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures, severe and persistent muscle spasms, another condition that is severe and resistant to conventional medicine. This page was last updated on February 26, 2019.

South Dakota

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

People from all over the world travel to South Dakota to see Mount Rushmore, but no one travels there for medical or adult-use marijuana. It is illegal. However, the marijuana laws in South Dakota could be changing in 2020 if Constitutional Amendment A, the Marijuana Legalization Initiative passes. Constitutional Amendment A will appear on the general election ballot on November 3, 2020, and passage would legalize recreational weed in South Dakota.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

N/A This page was last updated on September 14, 2020.

Tennessee

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Under current Tennessee marijuana laws, CBD oil must be acquired legally in the U.S. and outside of Tennessee. The CBD oil must have a manufacturer’s label that says the product contains less than 0.9%  THC, the predominant, intoxicating cannabinoid in cannabis. The oil must be purchased legally in the US outside of Tennessee and users must also have proof of legal purchase.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
Not specified
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Tennessee recognizes only conditions causing intractable seizures, such as epilepsy, as valid for using CBD. This page was last updated September 25, 2020.

Texas

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Only patients in the registry, who have been diagnosed with a qualifying condition by a state-certified physician, can purchase medical cannabis from one of three current DPS-licensed medical dispensaries. If patients are unable to make the purchase themselves, two of the three licensed dispensaries offer delivery services. Currently, only social workers and nurses are allowed to deliver cannabis products to patients and their caregivers. There is currently no tax information in state legislation. SB 339 does not specify any restrictions on where a patient can legally possess or consume medical cannabis.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

There is currently no lab testing required by the state.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

There is currently no age restriction for patients; however, patients younger than 18 will need a parent or legal guardian to obtain medical cannabis. Patients in the registry are authorized to purchase and consume medical cannabis if they meet eligibility requirements, which include: Established permanent Texas residency. Diagnosed with a qualifying condition that grants patients’ access to medicinal cannabis. Prescribed low-THC (less than 0.5% THC) cannabis by a qualified physician. Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig’s disease Autism Epilepsy or other seizure disorder Incurable neurodegenerative diseases Multiple sclerosis Spasticity Terminal cancer This page was last updated on Sept. 16, 2019.

Utah

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

There are six open medical cannabis pharmacies in Utah with another eight licensed and slated to open. Patients 18 and older, a parent or legal guardian of a minor patient, and designated caregivers may purchase medical cannabis. Each must have a medical cannabis card. All cards for patients younger than 21 must be approved by Utah’s Compassionate Use Board. Patients must consume their marijuana in private unless it’s a medical emergency. They can’t smoke cannabis anywhere or consume it while driving a vehicle.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
113 grams*
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

Cannabis and cannabis products must be tested for: Cannabinoid content (no more than 0.3% THC) Foreign matter Heavy metals Microbes Moisture content Pesticides Solvents Toxins

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Medical conditions qualifying patients for cannabis under the Utah Medical Cannabis Program include: Alzheimer’s disease Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, or Lou Gehrig’s disease Autism Cachexia, or wasting syndrome Cancer Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis Epilepsy or debilitating seizures HIV/AIDS Multiple sclerosis or persistent and debilitating muscle spasms Persistent nausea that is not significantly responsive to traditional treatment Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)  Terminal illness or condition resulting in hospice care A rare condition or disease that has not responded to conventional medications Pain lasting longer than two weeks that is not managed by conventional medications For conditions that aren’t on the list, patients can petition the Compassionate Use Board on a case-by-case basis.  This page was last updated September 25, 2020.

Vermont

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Once recreational cannabis retail outlets open (it’s planned for 2022) adults over 21 will be able to purchase cannabis in Vermont. They will be limited to flower that doesn’t have more than 30% THC and concentrates with no more than 60% THC. Edibles can have up to 50 milligrams of THC with servings of no more than 5 milligrams of THC each. Unflavored vape pen cartridges are the only oil allowed.   Registered patients and caregivers with medical marijuana cards can buy cannabis from one of the dispensaries sanctioned by the VMR. Medical sales are tax-exempt. THC limits imposed on recreational cannabis do not apply to medical marijuana. Patients can only buy from their designated dispensary. They are limited to one chosen dispensary at a time and can only change the designation once every 30 days for a $25 fee. Cannabis cannot be consumed outside of a private space or within public view. The governor’s Marijuana Advisory Commission is recommending that Vermont’s smoke-free laws extend to cannabis. Consumption in a public place can result in a $100 fine for the first offense.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
21+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
1oz
Recreational
2oz
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
5g
Recreational
10g
Medical
Required Testing

Medical cannabis products from registered dispensaries may be subject to testing.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Cachexia, or wasting syndrome Cancer Chronic pain Crohn’s disease Epilepsy, or other seizures Glaucoma HIV/AIDS Multiple sclerosis Parkinson’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Severe nausea This page was last updated September 30, 2020.

Virginia

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Medical cannabis products may be purchased at approved pharmaceutical processors. The Virginia Board of Pharmacy expects patients to be able to obtain cannabis from approved pharmaceutical processors in late 2020.  Consumption of medical cannabis is generally allowed in private, though patients may consume their cannabis medicine at school. Certifications should be kept with the medical cannabis products in accordance with Virginia drug laws. Medical cannabis products must be kept in sealed containers out of reach of drivers or passengers in motor vehicles. Driving while impaired is illegal. Smoking cannabis flower is also illegal.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
90-day Supply
Medical
Required Testing

Third-party lab testing and product labeling are required and labs must be accredited by the state. Products will be tested for: Cannabinoids Heavy metals Microbes  Mycotoxins Pesticides Terpenes

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Patients must receive written certification by a registered practitioner prior to applying for registration with the Board of Pharmacy. Parents or legal guardians of qualified patients must also register. To find providers who are registered to recommend medical cannabis, patients can look up qualified professionals.  This page was last updated September 29, 2020. 

Washington

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Under current Washington state marijuana laws, adult-use cannabis may be legally purchased only from a state-licensed retailer. Patients and caregivers may also purchase medical cannabis from any state-licensed retailer. Tribal ID cards are valid as identification if they meet the rules laid out by the WSLCB. According to the board’s website, tribal enrollment cards may only be used if the following requirements are met: The Tribe has notified the Board that it intends to use the ID card to purchase marijuana The enrollment card has a photo, a signature, and a date of birth The enrollment card has security features comparable to state Driver's License. There is a Washington state marijuana tax for retail consumers. Under state law, all retail marijuana sales are subject to a 37% excise tax, in addition to regular state and local sales tax. Medical patients are not subject to the excise tax or retail sales tax. It remains illegal to consume marijuana or marijuana-infused products in public view. Cannabis cannot be consumed wherever tobacco smoking is prohibited.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
21+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
1oz
Recreational
3oz
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
7g
Recreational
21g
Medical
Required Testing

All marijuana grown and processed in Washington must be tested by a third-party lab testing facility in a multi-step process. Certified labs must be certified in the following tests by the WSLCB: Foreign matter screening Heavy metal screening Microbial analysis Microbiological screening Moisture Mycotoxin screening Pesticides Potency analysis Residual solvent screening Terpenes

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Anorexia Appetite loss Cachexia, or wasting syndrome Cancer Chronic renal failure requiring hemodialysis Crohn’s disease Epilepsy or other seizure disorders Glaucoma Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Intractable pain Multiple Sclerosis Nausea Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Spasticity disorders Traumatic brain injury Petitions for adding more qualifying conditions ended after 2015. Only the Legislature can add eligible conditions. Mental health conditions such as bipolar disorder, severe depression, and anxiety disorders do not qualify for medical cannabis use. This page was last updated on September 3, 2019. 

West Virginia

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Patients can purchase only from dispensaries licensed by the Bureau of Health. Patients and caregivers may purchase and possess no more than a 30-day supply at any given time, per the requirements specified on a physician’s certification. Currently, no regulations surround medical cannabis delivery services. Local governments may determine to ban or limit medical cannabis businesses within a specific jurisdiction. Cannabis consumption is prohibited in any public place, inside a mother vehicle, or in any rented property that specifically prohibits cannabis consumption onsite. It is illegal to perform any task under the influence of cannabis in which doing so would constitute negligence, such as the operation of any motor vehicle, aircraft, or watercraft. Patients may consume medical cannabis as pills, oils, gels, creams, ointments, tinctures, liquid, and non-whole-plant forms through vaporization. Smoking cannabis flower is prohibited. Edibles are not permissible for sale, but patients can make their edibles at home.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
No Limit
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
30-day supply
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
30-day supply
Medical
Required Testing

The Bureau of Health is currently drafting regulations to determine cannabis lab testing requirements, labeling requirements, and the certification of lab testing facilities.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Patients with one of the following medical conditions qualify for medical marijuana: Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis Cancer Crohn’s disease Epilepsy HIV/AIDS Huntington’s disease Intractable seizures Multiple sclerosis Neuropathies Parkinson’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Severe chronic or intractable pain if conventional treatment has proved ineffective Sickle cell anemia Spinal cord damage Terminal illness The Bureau of Health is currently developing the process through which patients can obtain a medical cannabis ID card. Applications will be available online. Patients will be charged $50 for an identification card, and the fee can be waived for financial hardship. This page was last updated on Sept. 16, 2019.

Wisconsin

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

There is plenty of cheese in Wisconsin, but only possession of CBD products is allowed for a medical condition for which a physician has recommended CBD treatment.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
Not specified
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

N/A This page was last updated on February 26, 2019.

Wyoming

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Wyoming has not legalized recreational or medical marijuana, therefore it is against the law to use or possess cannabis in the state. However, hemp-derived cannabidiol (CBD) products that contain less than 0.3% THC by weight are legal to use and possess.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

N/A This page was last updated on Sept. 22, 2020.

Alberta

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Cannabis will be sold in privately owned, government-monitored stores that must acquire their cannabis from a federally-approved supplier. The businesses must be cannabis and accessory specialty stores and separate from alcohol, tobacco, and pharmaceuticals. Adult use consumers can also purchase their cannabis online.Smoking marijuana outdoors and public spaces is left up to municipalities, with some, such as Edmonton, tightening restrictions on all smoking and others, such as Calgary, implementing complete public smoking bans.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
18+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
30 grams
Recreational
150 grams
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Attention deficit or attention deficit-hyperactivity disorders (ADD/ADHD) Alzheimer’s disease Anxiety Arthritis Back and neck conditions Brain injury Cancer Chronic nausea Chronic pain Colitis Depression Eating disorders Epilepsy Fibromyalgia Gastrointestinal disorders Crohn’s disease Irritable bowel syndrome Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Kidney failure, including patients receiving dialysis Migraines Multiple sclerosis Muscle spasms Muscular dystrophy Parkinson’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Severe arthritis Sexual dysfunction Sleep disorders Vehicular crashes This page was last updated on September 26, 2018.

British Columbia

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Cannabis may be purchased at BC Cannabis Stores. Smoking will be allowed on private property and residences with the property owner’s approval. Smoking marijuana will generally be allowed in public spaces where tobacco smoking and vaping are permitted.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
19+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
30 grams
Recreational
150 grams
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

ADD/ADHD Alzheimer’s disease Anxiety Arthritis Back and neck conditions Brain injury Cancer Chronic nausea Chronic pain Colitis Crohn’s disease Depression Eating disorders Epilepsy Fibromyalgia Gastrointestinal disorders Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Irritable bowel syndrome Kidney failure, including dialysis patients Migraines Multiple sclerosis Muscle spasms Muscular dystrophy Parkinson’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Severe arthritis Sexual dysfunction Sleep disorders Vehicular crashes This page was last updated September 7, 2018.

Canada

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

The national government has left it to the provinces and territories to determine the sale of cannabis. Provinces and territories have the power to decide where cannabis can be consumed.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
18+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
30 grams
Recreational
150 grams
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

ADD/ADHD Alzheimer’s Disease Anxiety Arthritis Back & Neck Problems Brain Injury Cancer Chronic nausea Chronic pain Colitis Crohn’s disease Depression Eating disorders Epilepsy Fibromyalgia Gastrointestinal disorders Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Irritable bowel syndrome Kidney failure, including dialysis treatments Migraines Multiple sclerosis Muscle spasms Muscular dystrophy Parkinson’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Severe arthritis Sexual dysfunction Sleep disorders Vehicular crash-related injuries This page was last updated September 6, 2018.

Manitoba

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

The provincial government in February 2018 announced four retail groups that had been approved to open about 30 stores. Smoking is prohibited in most public spaces, including parks and beaches, as well as many locations where liquor and tobacco are allowed. It will be allowed on private property.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
19+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
30 grams
Recreational
150 grams
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Alzheimer’s Disease Anxiety Arthritis Attention-deficit and attention deficit-hyperactivity disorders (ADD/ADHD) Back and neck conditions Brain injury Cancer Chronic nausea Chronic pain Depression Eating Disorders Epilepsy Fibromyalgia Gastrointestinal disorders Colitis Crohn’s disease Irritable Bowel Syndrome Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Kidney failure/Dialysis Migraines Multiple sclerosis Muscle spasms Muscular dystrophy Parkinson’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Severe arthritis Sexual dysfunction Sleep disorders Vehicular crashes This page was last updated October 5, 2018.

New Brunswick

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Smoking will not be allowed in public places, and cannabis was added by the government to banned substances in its Smoke-free Places Act

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
19+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
30 grams
Recreational
150 grams
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Alzheimer’s disease Anxiety Arthritis Attention-deficit and attention deficit-hyperactivity disorders (ADD/ADHD) Back and neck conditions Brain injury Cancer Chronic nausea Chronic pain Depression Eating disorders Epilepsy Fibromyalgia Gastrointestinal disorders Colitis Crohn’s disease Irritable bowel syndrome Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Kidney failure, including patients receiving dialysis Migraines Multiple sclerosis Muscle spasms Muscular Dystrophy Parkinson’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Severe arthritis Sexual dysfunction Sleep disorders Vehicular crashes This page was last updated on October 16, 2018.

Newfoundland & Labrador

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Consumers in Newfoundland and Labrador will be able to purchase from private retailers in at least 24 locations approved, overseen, and supplied by providers licensed by the government’s Liquor Corporation. Smoking in Newfoundland and Labrador will only be allowed in private residences and on private property, and will not be allowed in public spaces, workplaces, or vehicles.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
19+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
30 grams
Recreational
150 grams
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Alzheimer’s disease Anxiety Arthritis Attention-deficit and attention deficit-hyperactivity disorders (ADD/ADHD) Back and neck conditions Brain injury Cancer Chronic nausea Chronic pain Depression Eating disorders Epilepsy Fibromyalgia Gastrointestinal disorders Colitis Crohn’s disease Irritable bowel syndrome Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Kidney failure, including patients receiving dialysis Migraines Multiple sclerosis Muscle spasms Muscular Dystrophy Parkinson’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Severe arthritis Sexual dysfunction Sleep disorders Vehicular crashes This page was last updated October 8, 2018.

Northwest Territories

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

When legalization takes effect October 17, 2018, consumers in the Northwest Territories will only be able to purchase recreational cannabis through liquor stores supplied and overseen by the government’s Liquor Commission, which will establish a system similar to that used for alcohol. Smoking will generally be allowed in places where tobacco smoking and vaping are allowed. It will be allowed on private property as well as trails, highways, streets and public parks, unless those are being used for public events.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
19+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
30 grams
Recreational
150 grams
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Alzheimer’s disease Anxiety Arthritis Attention-deficit and attention deficit-hyperactivity disorders (ADD/ADHD) Back and neck conditions Brain injury Cancer Chronic nausea Chronic pain Depression Eating disorders Epilepsy Fibromyalgia Gastrointestinal disorders Colitis Crohn’s disease Irritable bowel syndrome Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Kidney failure, including patients receiving dialysis Migraines Multiple sclerosis Muscle spasms Muscular Dystrophy Parkinson’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Severe arthritis Sexual dysfunction Sleep disorders Vehicular crashes This page was last updated on October 16, 2018.

Nova Scotia

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

When legalization takes effect, non-medical cannabis will be available in government liquor stores run by the Nova Scotia Liquor Corporation. Smoking will not be allowed in most public places. The Nova Scotia Smoke-Free Places Act, which requires all indoor workplaces and public places, outdoor areas of restaurants, bars, lounges, and cabarets to be smoke-free, was expanded to cover cannabis.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
19+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
30 grams
Recreational
150 grams
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Alzheimer’s disease Anxiety Arthritis Attention-deficit and attention deficit-hyperactivity disorders (ADD/ADHD) Back and neck conditions Brain injury Cancer Chronic nausea Chronic pain Depression Eating disorders Epilepsy Fibromyalgia Gastrointestinal disorders Colitis Crohn’s disease Irritable bowel syndrome Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Kidney failure, including patients receiving dialysis Migraines Multiple sclerosis Muscle spasms Muscular Dystrophy Parkinson’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Severe arthritis Sexual dysfunction Sleep disorders Vehicular crashes This page was last updated October 15, 2018.

Nunavut

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Recreational cannabis will only be available for purchase under the direction of the new Nunavut Liquor and Cannabis Commission. Smoking will be allowed in limited places indoors and outdoors where tobacco smoking and vaping are permitted. It will be allowed in private residences as long as odors cannot be detected from another dwelling.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
19+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
30 grams
Recreational
150 grams
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Alzheimer’s disease Anxiety Arthritis Attention-deficit and attention deficit-hyperactivity disorders (ADD/ADHD) Back and neck conditions Brain injury Cancer Chronic nausea Chronic pain Depression Eating disorders Epilepsy Fibromyalgia Gastrointestinal disorders Colitis Crohn’s disease Irritable bowel syndrome Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Kidney failure, including patients receiving dialysis Migraines Multiple sclerosis Muscle spasms Muscular Dystrophy Parkinson’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Severe arthritis Sexual dysfunction Sleep disorders Vehicular crashes This page was last updated October 12, 2018.

Ontario

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

When legalization takes effect, consumers in Ontario will only be able to purchase adult use cannabis online through the public Ontario Cannabis Store, a subsidiary of the Liquor Control Board. Smoking recreational cannabis is permitted wherever smoking tobacco is allowed.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
19+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
30 grams
Recreational
150 grams
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Alzheimer’s disease Anxiety Arthritis Attention-deficit and attention deficit-hyperactivity disorders (ADD/ADHD) Back and neck conditions Brain injury Cancer Chronic nausea Chronic pain Depression Eating disorders Epilepsy Fibromyalgia Gastrointestinal disorders Colitis Crohn’s disease Irritable bowel syndrome Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Kidney failure, including patients receiving dialysis Migraines Multiple sclerosis Muscle spasms Muscular Dystrophy Parkinson’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)Cannabis may be purchased at BC Cannabis Stores. Severe arthritis Sexual dysfunction Sleep disorders Vehicular crashes This page was last updated September 26, 2018.

Prince Edward Island

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Smoking will not be allowed in most public places, with exceptions for certain areas in multi-unit and communal living spaces. The Smoke-free Places Act, which restricts where a person may smoke any substance, also applies.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
19+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
30 grams
Recreational
150 grams
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Alzheimer’s disease Anxiety Arthritis Attention-deficit and attention deficit-hyperactivity disorders (ADD/ADHD) Back and neck conditions Brain injury Cancer Chronic nausea Chronic pain Depression Eating disorders Epilepsy Fibromyalgia Gastrointestinal disorders Colitis Crohn’s disease Irritable bowel syndrome Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Kidney failure, including patients receiving dialysis Migraines Multiple sclerosis Muscle spasms Muscular Dystrophy Parkinson’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Severe arthritis Sexual dysfunction Sleep disorders Vehicular crashes This page was last updated October 16, 2018.

Quebec

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

When legalization takes effect, consumers in Quebec will only be able to purchase recreational cannabis through stores and online through the public SQDC website. Smoking will generally be allowed in places where tobacco smoking and vaping are allowed.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
19+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
150 grams
Recreational
150 grams
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Alzheimer’s disease Anxiety Arthritis Attention-deficit and attention deficit-hyperactivity disorders (ADD/ADHD) Back and neck conditions Brain injury Cancer Chronic nausea Chronic pain Depression Eating disorders Epilepsy Fibromyalgia Gastrointestinal disorders Colitis Crohn’s disease Irritable bowel syndrome Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Kidney failure, including patients receiving dialysis Migraines Multiple sclerosis Muscle spasms Muscular Dystrophy Parkinson’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Severe arthritis Sexual dysfunction Sleep disorders Vehicular crashes This page was last updated on October 15, 2018.

Saskatchewan

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Cannabis will be sold in privately owned and supplied stores, monitored by the Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority. Smoking in public is not allowed. It will be allowed on private property and residences with the property owners’ approval.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
19+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
30 grams
Recreational
150 grams
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Alzheimer’s disease Anxiety Arthritis Back and neck conditions Brain injury Cancer Chronic nausea Chronic pain Colitis Depression Eating disorders Epilepsy Fibromyalgia Gastrointestinal disorders Crohn’s disease Irritable bowel syndrome Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Kidney failure, including patients receiving dialysis Migraines Multiple sclerosis Muscle spasms Muscular dystrophy Parkinson’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Severe arthritis Sexual dysfunction Sleep disorders This page was last updated September 27, 2018.

Yukon

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Recreational marijuana will initially only be available in one (1) government store in Whitehorse. Smoking will not be allowed in most public places, with the government allowing for “the potential to allow consumption in other spaces in the future.”

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
19+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
30 grams
Recreational
150 grams
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Alzheimer’s disease Anxiety Arthritis Attention-deficit and attention deficit-hyperactivity disorders (ADD/ADHD) Back and neck conditions Brain injury Cancer Chronic nausea Chronic pain Depression Eating disorders Epilepsy Fibromyalgia Gastrointestinal disorders Colitis Crohn’s disease Irritable bowel syndrome Hepatitis C HIV/AIDS Kidney failure, including patients receiving dialysis Migraines Multiple sclerosis Muscle spasms Muscular Dystrophy Parkinson’s disease Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) Severe arthritis Sexual dysfunction Sleep disorders Vehicular crashes This page was last updated October 16, 2018.

Australia

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Adult-use remains illegal in most provinces, with the notable exception of the Australian Capital Territory (ACT), which includes the capital Canberra. The ACT legalized recreational marijuana on September 25, 2019. In the territory, residents over age 18 may possess up to 50 grams of marijuana, grow two plants per person or four plants per household at any given time, and use cannabis in their home. 

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
Not specified
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
Not specified
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
Not specified
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

There is no list of qualifying conditions, but the Department of Health is reviewing existing studies of marijuana for chronic pain, epilepsy, nausea and vomiting from chemotherapy, palliative care, and multiple sclerosis. This page was last updated on September 22, 2020.

Germany

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

In Germany, medical marijuana is legal but adult-use is not. Delivery services and public consumption are illegal. Marijuana can only be purchased from pharmacies.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
Not specified
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

Cannabinoids, Heavy Metals, Pesticides, Terpenes and Microbiological.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Doctors can prescribe for patients for various reasons that are not listed by Germany’s cannabis agency, but only patients with serious conditions will qualify for reimbursement under the public insurance scheme. E.g., multiple sclerosis, epilepsy, chronic pain, nausea due to chemo treatment, cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis C, Parkinson’s diseases, etc. This page was last updated on January 1, 2018.

Italy

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Italy has a long and peculiar history with cannabis that is still in flux. Currently, cannabis is legal only for medicinal and industrial use. The Ministry of Health oversees the medical marijuana program. The government requires patients to have tried other treatments before turning to medical marijuana.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

N/A

Jamaica

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
56.6 grams (2 oz.)
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Mexico

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

N/A

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
TBD
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

N/A

Netherlands

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

In the Netherlands, cannabis for adult-use is illegal unless it is purchased and consumed in a coffee shop (social consumption lounge). Medical cannabis is available only in Dutch pharmacies. Although cannabis concentrates can be found to purchase, they are considered hard drugs and are illegal.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
18+
Recreational
Not specified
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
5g
Recreational
16g
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

Cannabinoids, Heavy Metals, Pesticides, Terpenes and Microbiological.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Pain and muscle spasms or cramps associated with multiple sclerosis or spinal cord damage; nausea, loss of appetite, weight loss and debilitation due to cancer or AIDS; nausea and vomiting associated with chemotherapy or radiotherapy used in the treatment of cancer, hepatitis C or HIV infection and AIDS; chronic pain (mainly pain associated with the nervous system, for example that caused by a damaged nerve, phantom pain, facial neuralgia or chronic pain which remains after the recovery from shingles); Gilles de la Tourette syndrome; therapy-resistant glaucoma; Crohn’s disease, ulcerative colitis, epilepsy, itching, migraine, rheumatism, rheumatoid arthritis, ADD and brain trauma. This page was last updated on January 1, 2018.

New Zealand

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

While New Zealand still looks forward to a 2020 General Election Referendum on cannabis decriminalization (the actual ballot text is not yet available), medicinal use is legal in very limited circumstances. The decriminalization referendum came about from a petition in the legislature, and the referendum before voters will be binding, meaning it will be required to be implemented if it wins a majority of votes. Interested parties should refer to the Electoral Commission site for updates on the text and voter information. Cannabidiol (CBD) and Sativex are possible to prescribe without ministerial approval. Industrial hemp must contain less than 0.35% THC and must be made by a licensed producer.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Prescriptions are extremely limited and generally approved via a case-by-case application submitted by a medical or nurse practitioner.

South Korea

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

On Nov. 23, 2018, South Korea became the first East Asian country to legalize cannabis-based medical products, albeit with heavy regulation. Patients must apply to the government with a doctor’s prescription, medical records, and a qualifying condition to be approved by the government on a case-by-case basis. Then they may order online through the Korea Orphan Drug Center, a government organization that arranges access to rare medicines. The medicine must be picked up at the center’s offices in Seoul. Those outside the region must travel.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
Not Specified
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
Not Specified
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

The only qualifying conditions as of March 2019 are two forms of epilepsy: Lennox-Gastaut and Dravet syndromes. The only currently allowed product was Epidiolex, an FDA-approved cannabidiol.

Spain

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

In Spain, there is no limit to the amount of marijuana you are allowed to possess (unless authorities have reason to believe you are distributing). While public consumption is technically illegal, social cannabis clubs are an exception. These clubs are also where consumers purchase marijuana. Membership is only open to Spanish citizens.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
18+
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
98g
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
98g
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

There is currently no lab testing required by the country.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

N/A - there is no medical marijuana, only adult-use. This page was last updated on January 1, 2018.

Switzerland

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

In Switzerland, adult-use marijuana is illegal, though possession of a minor amount of potency (with no more than one percent THC) has been decriminalized to a fine. There are more than 140 licensed retailers selling low-THC cannabis for medical purposes. Public consumption is illegal.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
Not specified
Recreational
Not specified
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
10g
Recreational
10g
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
10g
Recreational
10g
Medical
Required Testing

There is currently no lab testing required by the country.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

N/A This page was last updated on January 1, 2018.

Uruguay

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Cannabis is available to Uruguayan citizens and permanent residents 18 and older. Cannabis is not available for sale to tourists. Cannabis can be purchased only at government-run pharmacies. Individuals can purchase up to 40 grams, or 1.4 ounces, per month; according to subsequent regulations, the limit is 10 grams, or 0.35 ounces, per week.. Uruguay’s cannabis law forbids cannabis use in indoor public spaces where tobacco use is prohibited. Uruguay prohibits any form of advertising or promotion. Nonmedical users must register to buy marijuana and choose only one of the three legal forms of cannabis supply: home growing, clubs, or commercial purchase. When the law was passed, pharmacies were not required to sell cannabis and most chose not to opt into the system, leading to long lines at the pharmacies that do provide marijuana. The government is considering creating designated dispensaries.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
18+
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
40g
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

Uruguay currently doesn’t require lab testing.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Uruguay has not set qualifying conditions, although it is recommended for a few uses, including pain relief, cancer, seizures, epilepsy, and degenerative neurological diseases. This page was last updated on June 7, 2019.

US Virgin Islands

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

The U.S. Virgin Islands established a legal structure for medical marijuana on January 19, 2019, when Democratic Gov. Albert Bryan Jr. signed into law Bill No. 32-0135, the Virgin Islands Medical Cannabis Patient Care Act, which was approved by the legislature on December 28, 2018. Patients will apply to the OCR for an identification card that permits patients to use, grow, and otherwise access medical marijuana. Patients also must have a qualifying condition and a written certification by a health-care practitioner with whom they have a bona fide relationship.  A dispensary may not dispense more than 3 ounces, or 85 grams, of dried cannabis per patient within a  14-day period. 

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
N/A
Recreational
18+
Medical
Possession Limit
for Flower
N/A
Recreational
3 oz
Medical
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
N/A
Recreational
N/A
Medical
Required Testing

N/A

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Alzheimer’s disease; Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig’s disease; Arthritis; Autism; Cachexia, or wasting syndrome; Cancer; Chronic or severe pain; Crohn’s disease; Diabetes; Glaucoma; Hepatitis C; HIV/AIDS; Huntington’s disease; Multiple sclerosis; Neuropathy; Opiate use disorder; Parkinson’s disease; Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD); Seizures; Severe nausea; Terminal illness; Traumatic brain injury; Ulcerative colitis.