Weed dispensaries in San Diego, CA
Weed dispensaries in San Diego, CA
Cannabis Dispensaries in San Diego, CA
World-famous for its picture-perfect beaches, plentiful tourist hotspots, and near-constant sunshine—not to mention its open cannabis culture—San Diego is the perfect place for both fun and relaxation. Here’s what you need to know if you’re planning on visiting one of the many recreational or medical dispensaries in the city.
San Diego Dispensary Maps
The Lowdown on San Diego Cannabis Laws
Both medical and recreational cannabis use is legal in San Diego. California was the first to legalize medical marijuana with the Compassionate Use Act of 1994. In 2016, the state made recreational use legal with The Adult Use of Marijuana Act, Proposition 64. The Department of Cannabis Control oversees the use and access of cannabis in the state.
Recreational Cannabis Laws in San Diego
Recreational use of cannabis iSan Diego is legal for adults over the age of 21, who may:
Buy or possess up to one ounce, (28.5 grams) of cannabis
Buy or possess up to 8 grams of concentrated cannabis
Have up to 6 marijuana plants in their household
Give up to one ounce of cannabis to another person over the age of 21 (although they cannot receive money for it or any other form of compensation)
Medical Cannabis Laws in San Diego
The medical cannabis laws in San Diego mirror those of California as a whole. The Medicinal and Adult Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act manages the oversight and licensing of medical cannabis in the state. The Marijuana Identification Card program makes it possible for individuals to obtain access to cannabis for medical needs. This can be done through the Health & Human Services Agency for San Diego County.
The state’s laws allow for use for cannabis for numerous medical needs. This includes for:
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in San Diego
To obtain a medical marijuana card, individuals can obtain an application or set up an appointment time with the health department, then:
Complete the application form
Provide a government-issued photo ID
Show proof of residency in the county
Have written documentation from your physician that recommends the use of cannabis (complete form CDPH 9044)
Provide all contact information for your doctor, including their medical license number for the state.
Pay a $44 fee (discounts are available for some)
Where is it Legal to Consume Cannabis in San Diego
Cannabis is legal in private homes and approved public locations. It’s illegal to use cannabis products anywhere that tobacco products are banned.
Users are also not allowed to use cannabis within 1000 feet of a school, youth center, or daycare center when there are children on campus. It’s illegal to use cannabis in any form while driving or riding as a passenger of a vehicle, and to use cannabis on any land owned by the federal government, including buildings and parks.
How to Buy Cannabis at a San Diego Dispensary
There are numerous dispensaries across San Diego. An ID (and medical card, if desired) is required for purchase. Dispensaries are generally open from 9am-10pm, with many offering delivery and curbside pickup.
Cannabis Taxes in San Diego
There’s an 8% excise tax on all recreational cannabis purchases in San Diego. The fax funds go to a combination of the city’s general fund and to public programs.
Frequently Asked Questions
The average price of an 8th in San Diego
The average price of an 8th in San Diego is $60. Some of the strains at this price include Strawberry Lemonade, Tropicanna, Cereal Milk, Mendo Kush, White Walker OG, Zookies, Blueberry, and Pineapple OG. Other strains include Tahoe OG at $45, Gorilla Glue at $44, Green Crack at $30, Wifi 43 at $40, Sour Diesel Lemon Kush at $38, Cypress cannabis at $35, Kush Mountains at $68, and White Rhino at $40.
The most popular strain in San Diego
The most popular strain in San Diego is Blue Dream. It’s a slightly sativa-dominant strain with a fruity flavor reminiscent of summertime berries. Blue Cheese is another favorite strain among consumers in San Diego. It has a unique flavor similar to blue cheese.
Laws and regulations in San Diego
Adults 21 years and above are allowed to legally transport, possess, and consume cannabis products.
Individuals can cultivate up to six cannabis plants, both indoors and outdoors.
Licensed dispensaries may sell cannabis for adult-use, or recreational, use.
Possession is limited to one ounce (28.5 grams) of cannabis or eight grams of concentrated cannabis.
Possession or consumption of marijuana less than 1000 feet from a school, daycare, or youth center where there are minors is prohibited.
It is illegal to smoke cannabis in any public place where tobacco smoking is also prohibited.
Flower/concentrate/edible possession limit in San Diego
Adults 21 years and older are allowed to purchase and possess up to one ounce (28.5 grams) of cannabis or eight grams of concentrated cannabis. Adults at least 21 years older can grow up to six cannabis plants both indoors and outdoors in a secure place away from the public.
Difference between a storefront and a dispensary
A storefront is oriented for people looking to consume adult-use, or recreational, cannabis while dispensaries offer medical marijuana to patients with medical conditions.
In a storefront, a customer may purchase cannabis products without medical necessity, as long as they have a state-issued ID confirming their age. A dispensary may have a waiting room from where patients are invited into the salesroom by the budtender to discuss which cannabis products may be best suited for their symptoms and conditions.
You need a medical marijuana card to access a dispensary. However, you don’t need a medical marijuana card to buy products from an adult-use cannabis storefront.
Difference between adult-use, or recreational, and medical marijuana
Adult-use, or recreational, cannabis is used for enjoyment rather than to gain health benefits while medical marijuana is consumed to treat a defined medical condition.
Medical cannabis has to be certified by a licensed physician who has proved the patient has a chronic condition. In contrast, adult-use, or recreational, cannabis requires no certification by a doctor or an expert.
Adult-use, or recreational, cannabis is consumed without a qualified doctor's instructions. On the contrary, medical marijuana is used according to a qualified doctor's instructions.
Medical patient benefits in San Diego
Consumers with medical marijuana cards can purchase high-grade cannabis products from dispensaries to treat their conditions.
Medical marijuana patients can save up to 20 percent in extra fees charged to adult-use, or recreational, cannabis consumers.
With an MMJ card, you can grow up to 12 plants, with six mature or flowering plants.
The legal age for adult-use, or recreational, cannabis users is 21 years, while for medical marijuana, it is 18 years. This means that qualifying patients below the age of 21 can access medical marijuana to alleviate the symptoms of their conditions.
Medical marijuana information in San Diego
Obtaining a medical marijuana card in San Diego is simple. You need a medical marijuana recommendation from a licensed doctor to gain access to dispensaries in San Diego.
You can meet the doctor in person to confirm if you have a qualifying medical condition or opt for an online medical evaluation with a registered telemedicine clinician.
Once you get the medical marijuana recommendation, you report to the California Department of Health in San Diego, where you are enrolled in the Medical Marijuana Program.
You will then receive a valid medical marijuana card that can be renewed online when it expires.
Where does the San Diego tax revenue go?
San Diego cannabis tax revenue is used to fund various programs within the city. Part of the money is spent on public safety to improve the security of the residents of San Diego and California at large. The remaining portion is used to finance Family Health Centers, which offer treatment services to the low-income residents of San Diego.