Legislative History

Democratic-Farmer-Labor (DFL) Gov. Mark Dayton signed the Minnesota Medical Cannabis Act into law May 29, 2014. It was the 23rd state to enact medical marijuana legislation. The law created the state’s Medical Cannabis Program and Registry under the auspices of the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH).


Beginning in spring 2015, Minnesotans with qualified medical conditions began receiving certification from Minnesota-licensed health care practitioners, submitting applications to the MDH and enrolling in a patient registry. In July 2018, they were able to purchase cannabis from distribution facilities set up by medical cannabis manufacturers.


Smokable cannabis is not available. Instead, patients must take cannabis in the form of a liquid, pill, topical cream, or vape.


Marijuana remains a Schedule I controlled substance, with possession of up to one-and-a-half ounces (1.5 oz.), or 42.5 grams or less punishable by a maximum fine of $200. Possession of between one-and-a-half ounces (1.5 oz.), or 42.5 grams and 22.05 pounds, or 10 kilograms, is a felony punishable by up to five (5) years in prison and a $5,000 fine.

Where is it safe to purchase & consume?

Minnesota patients may purchase non-smokable cannabis medicine at eight dispensaries in the state. Dispensaries operated by licensed private manufacturers are located in Minneapolis, St. Paul, Bloomington, Eagan, Rochester, Hibbing, St. Cloud and Moorhead.


At the dispensary, patients need to provide an appointment summary, list of prescribed medications received during their health-care practitioner visit and must fill out a self-evaluation form.


Recreational marijuana is illegal. Commercial delivery is prohibited, as only caregivers may transport supplies to patients.


Marijuana cannot be consumed in public.

How Old Do I Need
to Be to Consume?
Possession Limit
for Flower
Possession Limit
for Concentrates
30-day supply

Required Testing

The state has licensed laboratories test for THC and CBD levels and for contaminants such as solvents, pesticides, microbiologicals and heavy metals.

Qualifying Conditions and Patient Rights

Minnesota allows for 13 qualifying conditions with the possibility for adding more as approved by the health commissioner.

  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig’s disease
  • Autism
  • Cachexia, or wasting disease
  • Cancer, if the underlying condition or treatment causes severe or chronic pain, nausea, or severe vomiting
  • Glaucoma
  • Inflammatory bowel disease, including Crohn’s disease
  • Intractable pain
  • Obstructive sleep apnea
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • Seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy
  • Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis
  • Tourette’s syndrome
  • Terminal illness with a probable life expectancy of less than one year if the illness or its treatment produces one or more of the following:
    • cachexia, or severe wasting disease
    • nausea or severe vomiting
  • Severe or chronic pain

Patient Application

To receive medical marijuana, patients must enroll in the Medical Cannabis Registry.  A licensed health-care practitioner, such as a physician, physician assistant, or practice registered nurse, must certify that the patient has one or more of the qualifying conditions. There is a $200 registration fee, although reduced fees are available through state or federal programs. Annual recertification is required for $50.


During the certification process, patients can also ask to designate a parent, legal guardian or another person as a caregiver to administer cannabis and acquire it at dispensaries if patients are disabled. The health care practitioners must approve the caregiver. Caregivers who are not parents or legal guardians must go through an approval process that includes a criminal background check.


The state authorizes two companies to be manufacturers of medical marijuana. Manufacturers are responsible for growing the medical cannabis, processing it into a pill or liquid form, and distributing the medications through a network of eight distribution sites. The review process to select the manufacturers was conducted by representatives from fields including agriculture, pharmacy, public safety, commerce, and finance.


This page was last updated on December 7, 2018.