Is Weed Legal in Georgia?
Georgia marijuana laws allow only medical CBD in the form of extracts high in CBD and low in THC, and only with a physician’s recommendation. Low-THC is defined as 5% or less with a higher percentage of CBD than THC.
Georgia’s HB 1 cleared the path to create a patient registry for those with qualifying conditions. The bill was signed by Republican Gov. Nathan Deal on April 16, 2015. The Georgia Department of Public Health (DPH) and Georgia Composite Medical Board work together to oversee the patient registry.
On May 9, 2018, Deal signed SB 16 to expand patient access to low-THC oil. The bill became effective July 1, 2018. In addition to adding qualifying conditions, the expansion allowed for Georgia hospice care residents to obtain low-THC oil.
Under current Georgia marijuana laws, registry cards can be obtained from the DPH with a doctor’s recommendation and payment of a $25 fee. Doctors are required to fill out two forms. Cards are ready within 15 business days and valid for two years.
For everyone else, marijuana possession Georgia is regulated under the Georgia Controlled Substances Act. Those in possession of one ounce(28.35 grams) or less incur a misdemeanor penalty punishable by up to 12 months in jail, a 12-month sentence for public works service, and a fine up to $1,000.
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig’s disease
- Crohn’s disease
- Hospice care patients
- Intractable pain
- Mitochondrial disease
- Multiple sclerosis
- Parkinson’s disease
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Severe or end-stage peripheral neuropathy
- Sickle cell disease
- Tourette’s syndrome
Is Weed Legal in Atlanta?
While recreational cannabis is illegal in the state of Georgia, Atlanta weed laws are slightly different, as cannabis has been decriminalized in the city of Atlanta.