December 9th, 2016, the Maryland Medical Marijuana Commission announced the 92 Dispensary entities selected the first stage of pre-approval for licensing. The Commission will vote for licensing each dispensary when compliance checks are completed.
This listing is for informational purposes only.
Maryland Medical Marijuana Program Information:
HB 881 was signed into law by Governor Martin O’Malley on April 14, 2014, and took effect on June 1, 2014, in the state of Maryland. HB 881 tasked the Maryland Medical Marijuana Commission and the State Department of Health and Mental Hygiene with developing regulations for the legal use, possession, cultivation, and distribution of marijuana and cannabis products for medical use.
Maryland Marijuana Qualifying Conditions:
Patients may qualify to be certified for medical marijuana by a certifying physician if they meet the following conditions:
-a condition resulting in a patient receiving hospice or palliative care
-cachexia, anorexia or wasting syndrome
-severe or chronic pain
-severe or persistent muscle spasms
-other conditions approved by the Maryland Medical Marijuana Commission
To become a Maryland Medical Marijuana patient, an individual must first register as a patient with the MMCC. Once registered, the individual must be a patient of a physician registered with the MMCC or, if not, referred to a certifying physician. Following a full medical examination in the course of a bona-fide patient-doctor relationship, the physician must submit on the patient or caregiver’s behalf a written certification to the Commission, with the MMCC-issued Patient ID number included.
Upon receipt of their certification, patients must visit a licensed Maryland dispensary and present either their US-government issued photo ID or MMCC-issued patient ID card, available as an optional purchase for $50. These MMCC ID cards are optional and not required for patients to participate in the medical cannabis program.
To register, patients may visit the MMCC website or visit one of their sign-up events with the required documents. The list of registry locations is available on the MMCC website.
What Maryland Medical Marijuana Patients and Caregivers need to Know About Their Rights:
Medical Marijuana qualifying patients may legally possess a 30-day supply of medical cannabis as determined by the commission. Qualifying patients enrolled in a compassion program or in possession of this amount are not subject to arrest, prosecution, penalties or denied any rights or privileges.
A qualifying patient or caregiver may obtain medical cannabis only from a licensed medical marijuana grower or dispensary, or if the qualifying patient is under 18 years of age from their caregiver (parent or legal guardian). A caregiver may serve no more than five patients at a time, and a qualifying patient may have no more than two caregivers.
Maryland State law does not protect individuals from undertaking tasks under the influence of marijuana which would constitute professional malpractice, operating a vehicle while under the influence of cannabis, smoking marijuana in public, in a motor vehicle or on a private property whose policies prohibit the smoking of medical marijuana.
(For information on how to become a Maryland Medical Marijuana Patient or Caregiver, see: Maryland Medical Marijuana Program Information)
What Maryland Medical Marijuana Growers need to know:
Licensed medical marijuana growers may provide medical marijuana to compassionate programs, licensed dispensaries, and qualifying patients and caregivers. Acceptable marijuana forms and products include flower, food, tinctures, aerosols, oils, and ointments.
Growers seeking licensure under the Maryland Medical Marijuana Condition must apply to the Maryland Medical Marijuana Commission by submitting an application fee and all application materials in paper or via an electronic form. The Maryland Medical Marijuana Commission especially encourages medical marijuana growers that grow high-CBD strains, prepare various administration methods, that are located in agricultural zones, and who qualify as a minority business enterprise.
Licensed growers may dispense medical marijuana at the grower’s facility or a satellite facility belonging to the grower. Entities licensed to grow must ensure that all safety precautions are taken as established by the Maryland Medical Marijuana Commission. A grower license is valid for two years for initial and renewal licenses.
All grower agents (employees, owners, operators, directors, etc.) must register with the Maryland Medical Marijuana Commission before starting work by obtaining a state and national background check and apply for a registration card. After one business day of an agent ceasing association with a grower, the grower must notify the Maryland Medical Marijuana Commission and return their registration card. Persons convicted of a felony drug offense may not be registered as a growing agent.
A grower or grower agent licensed by the Maryland Medical Marijuana Commission may not be arrested, prosecuted or subject to any penalties or denied any rights or privileges for the growing, possessing, transferring, processing, transporting, distributing or selling of medical marijuana.
As of December 9th, 2016, the Maryland Medical Marijuana Commission announced the ten Grower entities who were pre-approved to licensure. These front-line growers will proceed to the second stage of approval, where the Maryland Medical Marijuana Commission will examine criminal background records, perform financial due diligence and all compliance inspections. The Maryland Medical Marijuana Commission will vote for licensure once investigations are complete.
What are the rules and Regulations for Maryland Medical Marijuana Dispensaries:
Maryland Medical Marijuana Dispensaries seeking to license through the Maryland Medical Marijuana Commission must submit an application that includes:
1. An application fee,
2. The legal name and address of the dispensary
3. The names, addresses and birth dates of each director and principal officer
4. The operating procedures that the dispensary will use that are compliant with the Maryland Medical Marijuana Commission’s regulations.
The Maryland Medical Marijuana Commission will establish an application review process to approve and license dispensaries, and actively seek to achieve ethnic, racial and geographic diversity when licensing.
A dispensary agent means an owner, member, or any employee or volunteer associated with a licensed dispensary. A dispensary agent must be 21 years old, register with the Maryland Medical Marijuana Commission before work, and submit to a state and national criminal background check. Each dispensary agent must carry a registration card, and within one business day after a dispensary agent ceases association, the dispensary must notify the commission and return the agent’s card. The commission may not register a person convicted of a felony drug offense.
A licensed dispensary or dispensary agent may not be penalized or arrested under state law for possessing, acquiring, transferring, processing, transporting, distributing, selling, or dispensing marijuana, marijuana products or ancillary goods and educational materials.
Maryland Medical Cannabis Pre-Approved Dispensaries
On December 9th, 2016, the Maryland Medical Marijuana Commission announced the 92 Dispensary entities selected the first stage of pre-approval for licensing. Each pre-awardee has a total of 365 days from this date to implement their operations and will continue to the second stage of the approval process, including criminal background checks, financial investigations, and compliance inspections. The Commission will vote for licensing each dispensary when compliance checks are completed.
Maryland Medical Marijuana Service Locations:
Maryland Medical Marijuana dispensaries are still in the pre-approval stage of licensing, though dispensary locations are expected to service Maryland Medical Marijuana patients in Baltimore, Washington County, Allegany County, Washington County, Frederick County, Carroll County, Harford County, Howard County, Montgomery County, Anne Arundel County, Prince George's County, Calvert County, Charles County, Queen Anne’s County, Somerset County, and Baltimore City.
been a patient since Dec 5 since I've been to most stores. First the prices are insane almost 2x street prices, that means the black market will be stronger then ever. Second the quality of those buds is not real good either, dry from sitting on shelves waiting for lab results, with only 4 labs and more growers every week comin on line. The program was rolled out by a bunch of uneducated politicians who wasted a good thing for this mess. I just hope things get better because it cant get worse.
2 people thought this review was helpful
I heard on the news that's there is a dispensary, not open yet but taking pre-orders. Of what...how do we know where this place is located, how to contact, how and WHAT to pre-order? I am so ready!!! Does anyone know the name of it?
1 person thought this review was helpful
you all said that we're going to have dispensaries by mid there early to mid summer it is nail July so I guess by the end of July would be Midsummer come on get off your butts and get these applications approved ,these people have the money to put up the by these businesses they certainly can't be criminals or whatever you're looking for I mean you know come on it's been since 2014 it's been legal get off you butts, because you know whats going to happen more heroin that's soon because people can't stand the pain and you know with the opiate new law coming out July that's really going to put a pinch on people that good it's not going to stop the crimmals what you actually it's probably going to increase robberies and everything else so you guys have your heads out of the ground,,, let's go let's get these marijuana dispensarys approved or let us go to D.C.. any other time DC is part of Maryland but when it comes to the marijuana dispensaries now they Independent