Marijuana Dispensaries in Missouri
Marijuana Dispensaries in Missouri
Visiting a Missouri dispensary
The Midwest is slowly but surely opening itself up to cannabis reform, and Missouri is an excellent example of how rapidly laws can change to benefit local communities. Missouri lawmakers are working together to develop regulations to legalize cannabis fully within the state, but until then, it is important for Missourians to understand how to visit a Missouri dispensary legally and safely.
Missouri cannabis laws to know
Missouri just gained a legal medical marijuana program, but recreational cannabis remains illegal across the state. Fortunately, cannabis has been decriminalized, meaning possession of 10 grams of flower or less is a misdemeanor punishable by a $500 fine. Though both Democrats and Republicans are hoping to legalize recreational cannabis in the coming years, there is no strict timeline for the availability of adult-use weed within the state. For now, Missouri cannabis laws seem at a standstill.
Medical cannabis laws in Missouri
In 2014, the Missouri Legislature created the Missouri Hemp Extract Registration Program (MHERP), which allowed specifically epilepsy patients to purchase, possess, and use hemp extracts for the management of their medical condition. In 2018, Missouri voters expanded the state’s medical marijuana program with a constitutional amendment, allowing any patient recommended cannabis treatment by a state-licensed physician to access medical marijuana through a regulated dispensary system.
Today, the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS) regulates the state’s medical marijuana program. Patients suffering from qualified medical conditions are allowed to purchase from a Missouri dispensary up to four ounces of dried cannabis, one gram of concentrate, or 100 milligrams of THC-infused product within a 30-day period — or more if they get certain approval from independent physicians. Patients can possess up to a 60-day supply, or up to a 90-day supply if they participate in personal cultivation.
Patients are allowed to participate in home cultivation, as long as they register their garden with the DHSS. The garden must be in a secure facility and will be subject to DHSS inspections as well as certain fees. The garden can contain up to six flowering plants, six non-flowering plants, and six clones shorter than 14 inches, but no more than 12 mature plants can be cultivated in the same space.
How to get a medical marijuana card in Missouri
Until recreational cannabis is legalized in Missouri, the only way to visit a Missouri dispensary is with a valid medical marijuana ID card from the DHSS. To obtain an ID, patients must first obtain a physician certification from a licensed physician or osteopath in Missouri. The certification attests that the patient suffers from a medical condition qualifying them for medical cannabis use and indicates how much cannabis per month is advised for effective treatment.
Next, patients must register with the DHSS by submitting a completed application, proof of Missouri residency, a photograph, and a $25 application processing fee. Patients interested in home cultivation must indicate this on their application. Within 30 days, the DHSS will review the application, and upon acceptance, patients can download their ID for immediate use in Missouri dispensaries.
Where is it legal to consume cannabis in Missouri?
Like most states, Missouri restricts cannabis consumption to private spaces away from public view. However, Missouri does protect medical marijuana patients, requiring property owners to dedicate consumption spaces for qualified patients — though property owners can restrict medical cannabis to non-smokable products.
How to buy cannabis at a Missouri dispensary
Missouri dispensaries are overseen by the DHSS and subject to strict rules of operation. Most dispensaries are open between around 11AM and 7PM, though hours of operation can vary from city to city. Visitors need to have a valid medical marijuana ID and another proof of ID, and it is wise to bring enough cash to cover purchases. Some dispensaries in Missouri offer convenient services like curbside pickup and home delivery, but these are not available everywhere.
How much does cannabis cost in Missouri?
A gram of dry flower can range in cost from about $10 to over $20, depending on the quality of the weed and the location of the Missouri dispensary. These prices could shift after recreational cannabis becomes available or as more Midwestern states legalize cannabis.
Cannabis taxes in Missouri
Missouri levies a 4% tax on cannabis purchases. Tax revenues collected in the state go to the Missouri Veteran’s Health and Care Fund.