Marijuana dispensaries in Aurora, IL, IL
Marijuana dispensaries in Aurora, IL, IL
Visiting a Dispensary in North Aurora, IL
The village of North Aurora, Illinois blends its open cannabis culture with an array of parks, bike trails, and nature reserves. A suburb of Chicago, North Aurora is right in the heart of the dispensary boom, making it essential for marijuana seekers to learn about the village’s cannabis law regulations.
The Lowdown on North Aurora Cannabis Laws
Both medicinal and recreational marijuana use are legal in North Aurora. Illinois became the 20th state to legalize medical cannabis in August 2013, when it passed the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Program Act. In June 2019, it became the 11th state to legalize recreational cannabis when it passed the Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act, although the bill didn’t take effect until January 2020. Medical marijuana is legal for adults over the age of 18; minors under 18 may obtain a license with the support of their parents or guardian. Recreational marijuana is legal for adults over the age of 21.
Recreational Cannabis Laws in North Aurora
North Aurora residents with a valid ID can purchase and possess up to:
30 grams of cannabis flower (roughly one ounce)
5 grams of cannabis concentrate (oils, dab, or kief)
500 milligrams of THC (tetrahydrocannabinol) within cannabis-infused products (e.g., tinctures and edibles)
All recreational cannabis in North Aurora must be purchased from a licensed dispensary—it’s not yet legal to buy cannabis online or otherwise through the mail. It’s also currently illegal for residents to grow their own recreational marijuana.
In April 2021, Kane County voted to allow recreational dispensaries (as opposed to medical dispensaries, which currently offer both medical and recreational cannabis) in unincorporated areas.
Medical Cannabis Laws in North Aurora
Medical marijuana can be purchased through a North Aurora dispensary by patients who suffer from a state-approved debilitating medical condition. In North Aurora, an “adequate supply” of medical cannabis can be purchased by registered users every 14 days. The standard measurement is 2.5 ounces; however, some waivers are allowed if patients receive a written statement from their physician explaining why the limit isn’t enough for their debilitating medical condition.
Medical marijuana patients may grow up to five plants legally at their residence, provided the marijuana is for personal consumption only. You must store the cannabis within your home for it to be considered legal as well.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in North Aurora
All patients must register for their Medical Cannabis Registry Card with the state’s Medical Cannabis Registry Program and:
Submit a copy of your Illinois State driver’s license or State ID card
Provide proof of legal residency
Have a physician’s certification that you have a qualifying condition
Submit a photo taken within the last 30 days
Minors under the age of 18 can also register on the site, and must submit:
A healthcare professional certification
A reviewing health care professional certification
Minors do not need to submit a photo. Qualifying patients who turn 18 years old during the time their registry ID card is valid may apply for an adult registry ID immediately or during the normal renewal period.
For both adults and minors, patients can choose a one-year, two-year, or three-year card, and may register designated caregivers. Social Security Disability Income (SSDI) or Supplemental Security Income (SSI) and veterans may be eligible for a reduced application fee. You can find a breakdown of all fees on the Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH) website.
Where is it Legal to Consume Cannabis in North Aurora
If you buy marijuana from a North Aurora weed dispensary, you must consume it in your own home or on-site at select cannabis-related licensed outlets (check with your dispensary!). Using marijuana in public is illegal—this includes streets, parks, and areas adjacent to dispensaries—as is using cannabis in any vehicle, whether or not it’s running. It’s also illegal to consume cannabis near anyone under 21 years old, or near any on-duty bus drivers, police officers, firefighters, or corrections workers.
Consumption of marijuana on private property is legal, subject to the discretion of the property owner (e.g., if you rent an apartment, you must get permission from your landlord to use cannabis).
How to Buy Cannabis at a North Aurora Dispensary
There’s not many medical and recreational dispensaries in North Aurora yet, but there are many in the surrounding areas. Hours of operation vary, but most North Aurora dispensaries are open from 9am-9pm. There’s currently no dispensaries offering curbside pickup in North Aurora, but dispensaries in the area offer that perk.
Cannabis Taxes in North Aurora
There’s no tax on medical marijuana in North Aurora. For recreational marijuana, the state uses a graduated excise tax system:
· Purchases with less than 35% THC are taxed at 10%
· Purchases with more than 35% THC are taxed at 25%
· Cannabis-infused goods (e.g., edibles) with 35% or more THC are taxed at 20%
In addition, Kane County adds a 3.75% sales tax for purchases made in unincorporated areas, and a 3% sales tax for purchases made in incorporated areas.