Marijuana dispensaries in Denver Downtown, CO
Marijuana dispensaries in Denver Downtown, CO
Visiting dispensaries in Denver, Colorado
Colorado was among the first states to eliminate cannabis prohibition and legalize the drug for recreational use — which has transformed Colorado’s capital, Denver, into a hub of cannabis culture. Today, Denver and its surrounding cities are teeming with dispensaries and other canna-tourism hotspots. As you find a convenient location to purchase and enjoy cannabis in Denver, you can learn more about Colorado’s cannabis laws and Denver’s local regulations for recreational and medical weed.
Denver’s cannabis laws
Denver permits both recreational and medical cannabis use, and most dispensaries in Denver offer both retail cannabis products and products designed for medical cannabis treatment. Medical cannabis was legalized way back in 2000, though the first Denver dispensary did not open until 2004. Likewise, recreational cannabis was legalized in Colorado when voters passed Amendment 64 in 2012, and Denver’s first recreational dispensary opened its doors in 2014. Today, many stores and services also offer weed delivery in Denver.
Rules for recreational cannabis in Denver
Denver allows adults of age 21 and older to possess up to an ounce of cannabis, which includes both flower and infused-products like edibles, or up to eight grams of concentrates. These products can be purchased from a licensed Denver dispensary, but currently, home delivery is expressly prohibited by Colorado law. Though some Denver dispensaries do have delivery services, using them might be legally risky.
Users are allowed to grow up to six cannabis plants at home, but cultivation must take place in an enclosed space outside public view or access. What’s more, only three cannabis plants can be in flower at once. Users can give up to an ounce of cannabis away to other qualified adults, as long as the gift is not recompensed in any way.
Rules for medical cannabis in Denver
Colorado’s Medical Marijuana Registry (MMR) is managed by the Department of Health, which regulates patients, health care providers, and medical dispensaries. To acquire cannabis treatment, patients must suffer from a qualifying health condition determined by the Department of Health. There are no age restrictions on participation in Colorado’s medical marijuana program, but patients under 18 can only apply with the consent of an adult caregiver, who is responsible for purchasing and administering the cannabis products. Patients can possess up to two ounces of cannabis, acquired from a Denver dispensary or from up to six plants cultivated at home.
How to get a MMR card in Denver
Prospective MMR patients must apply online through the Department of Health website. The most important element of the application is the physician certification of medical need, but patients must also submit a copy of photo ID, which should prove identity and residency within Colorado. Applications cost $25, and they are usually processed within three to seven days, after which time accepted patients can access a Denver dispensary.
Patients’ physicians set expiration dates for Colorado MMR cards. Patients need to renew their cards at least 30 days prior to expiration to avoid interruption in medical cannabis access, and renewals require another physician certification.
Where is it legal to consume cannabis in Denver?
Technically, Colorado law restricts cannabis consumption to private spaces away from public view, which means users are safest consuming at home or within 420-friendly accommodations. Consumption in vehicles is strictly prohibited.
However, Denver allows the creation of “hospitality establishments,” in which qualified adults can purchase and use cannabis in a social setting. The best dispensaries in Denver have lounges or tasting rooms attached, but there are separate facilities, like bars and restaurants, that permit semi-public consumption.
How much does cannabis cost in Denver?
Likely because of the rampant competition amongst Denver dispensaries, the city has notoriously low cannabis prices. Consumers can find a gram of flower for as little as $9 and a gram of concentrates for around $35. However, costs can increase with higher-quality, rarer, or specialty cannabis products.
Cannabis taxes in Denver
Retail marijuana — which is to say all recreational cannabis products — are subject to sales tax of 15% as well as an additional 15% excise tax. In contrast, medical cannabis sales are only subject to the general state sales tax of 4.31%. Tax revenues are collected by Colorado and distributed to local governments according to the percentage of their cannabis sales. Denver largely utilized cannabis taxes to fund public education, but some cannabis taxes also support infrastructure repair and public health.