It is against the law to use or possess marijuana in the state of Wyoming.
The Wyoming Division of Criminal Investigation says that having, selling and using anything with tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) is illegal, except for those with Wyoming Department of Health (WDH)-issued Hemp Extract Registration Cards, to use cannabidiol (CBD) oil products that contain less than 0.3 percent of THC by weight.
There were at least two attempts by advocates to place marijuana legalization on the state ballot, including an effort to place it before voters in 2018. But advocates failed to gather enough signatures to qualify.
However, Wyoming residents are warming up to the idea of some form of legalization. An October 2018 survey of more than 600 residents by the University of Wyoming revealed that about 49 percent supported the adult personal use of cannabis (a double-digit increase from a few years ago), while 86 percent were in favor of legalizing prescribed medical marijuana.
Wyoming’s Tobacco Prevention and Control Program is the agency in charge of distributing Hemp Extract Registration Cards for use of CBD oil.
Buying CBD oil is getting tougher to come by in the state. The Wyoming Division of Criminal Investigation recently asked retailers to remove CBD oil from sale after finding that some products they have analyzed contain some THC.
to Be to Consume?
Consuming and Possessing Cannabis
Only patients with a Hemp Extract Registration Card who need CBD oil as a recommended treatment for epilepsy can possess and use low- or no-THC CBD oil.
Hemp Extract Registry
The WDH issues Hemp Extract Registration Cards to those who need cards to possess and use CBD oil. The card must be renewed every year.
Intractable epilepsy is the only condition Wyoming permits patients to use CBD oil to treat.
To obtain a Hemp Extract Registration Card, patients must be at least 18 years old, or have a parent or legal guardian if the patient is younger than 18, be a Wyoming resident and be diagnosed with intractable epilepsy.
The application also must include a certification statement from the patient’s neurologist in writing, an evaluation record from the neurologist that needs to be sent to the WDH within five (5) days of certification, documents authorizing guardianship if the patient is a minor, photo identification with proof of residency, and a nonrefundable $150 application fee.
The state Health Department will accept applications in person or by mail and usually takes about 21 business days to process applications. The department won’t mail cards to out-of-state addresses.
A parent or legal guardian for minors who need CBD oil for treatment of intractable epilepsy can apply for a Hemp Extract Registration Card.
For minors, it must be a parent or legal guardian over the age of 18.
Caregivers fill out the application form found at https://health.wyo.gov/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/Registry-Application-1.pdf and include proof of identification.
Licensing for Growers, Manufacturers, Processors and Retailers
Home Cultivation Regulations
This page was last updated on February 26, 2019.