The Clone Store

Medical Dispensaries / Denver South   (103,120 hits)
755 South Federal Blvd Unit 5Denver , CO80219
303-993-5653
Su
Mo
Tu
We
Th
Fr
Sa
WeedMenu updated2015-04-26 16:43:51 UTC

Reviews

Sort By
4.5Avg. Rating
2.4
Overall Rating
1.0
Bud Quality
3.0
Price
3.0
Accessibility
2.0
Staff
3.0
Atmosphere

SPIDER MITES. Overall Poor Experience, I'd Pass.

1 personthought this review was helpful!

Short Review:
-Fluffy Unimpressive Buds
-Spider Mite Clones (Historic Problem)
-1 Uninformed staff/1 Rude Staff/1 Informed Staff
-Average Atmosphere
-Average Price, but Low quality
-Clones Barely Rooted

Long Review:

Update: After writing this, I read deeper into their reviews and found out they have a historic problem of selling spider mite infested clones. This also explains the numerous reviews knocking them for fluffy, unimpressive buds. They must be constantly fighting spider mites because this all corresponds to my experience, all the way down to the strain that I got the mites from (Cali Orange).

This is why my experience was a poor one, I tried to be detailed so you can make your own decision about this place. Yeah I'm not happy with them, so I'll spend money elsewhere and let the free market figure it out.

1.) Bud Quality: The bud looked like a growers first crops. I saw it and immediately knew I wouldn't be making a purchase even to sample the genetics I was seeking. It looked fluffy like it was grown with a crowding issue or a pest issue could have been the culprit. Either way, the bud was NOT grown correctly which tells me they aren't dialed in or are very lazy gardeners. More detail: I'm not sure if it was all bottom buds, but it appeared that way; not a single top nug in any jar. Really just small/mid sized nugs. I would have used the product for BHO. I asked if it was outdoor/green house just by looking at it, that's what came to mind when seeing the product. In which case the condition of the bud would have made sense to me. When they mentioned it was indoor, I was pretty shocked that a dispensary put that on the shelves. I read other reviews mentioning top shelf here. I looked in every jar and most had low grade bud, a few strains (4-5) were mid grade. Nothing was top shelf material, and I'm not trying to be a snob. Just an honest review and it caught me off guard tbh.

Clones: For a place called 'The Clone Store', I was disappointed. The clones were barely rooted cuts in rapid rooters. At $10/each I thought they were a rip off. These are 'cuts' being passed off as 'clones'. A 50 site rapid rooter tray cost ~$20 and cuts are free; this should be the easiest thing to get right for a place with their namesake. Also they had a very low quantity of cuts for each strain, which I was disappointed with after looking at their website. I'm guessing something is going on in their garden. Maybe the gardener is under staffed and juggling too much (PMS/Clone Orders/Growing/Trimming).
On a positive note, they had some cool, unique genetics. So I figured 'what the heck, I can wait a week or two to root these out'. I isolated the group in a dome, but did not dip them myself (I know, I know! Dumb move. I trusted them because they were a dispensary for some stupid reason. Dispensary=Craigslist. Don't be fooled ever!). I specifically asked the shop if they had any pest problems because I'm a seed guy and run clean (No pest issues in years for me. No I'm not a newbie.). Well good thing I isolated because mites 'magically' made their way into the dome and onto only one clone (Cali Orange) of the six I purchased. I do believe they treated the clones, because the multiplying was delayed a few weeks before it was very obvious. I wasn't hawk-eyeing the cuts every day because they were isolated. I caught them right before the mite invasion. Maybe 50~ very adolescent mites and a load of eggs ready to pop. My guess is they treated the cut, but a very small number of mite eggs survived the treatment. The timeline of the population growth matches this. They started to multiply during that random 80 degree spell two weeks ago, but then stalled due to the immediate cold this week. So thank goodness for the stall.

2.) Atmosphere: The shop was empty and it took 10-15 minutes to get me in the door. Once in the door, the shop setup was nice like most dispensaries. This is pretty normal when you're a new customer, so I thought it was an average experience.

3.) The staff: The first person to help me was a young lady. I was only interested in the clones after seeing the poor quality bud. I thought they would be informed about the growth characteristics of each strain, but she didn't know much aside from the strain name and indica/sativa dominate. She asked the manager to help me out and he was much more informed/helpful. I was surprised they didn't have print outs with the write ups of how the plants grow, flowering times, lineage. This is basic stuff I look up when researching genetics and should have been readily available in the shop. I ended up using my phone.

When I called to inform them that one of my plants had mites, the guy on the other end seemed more concerned about my not so excited tone, rather then remedying the situation. Frankly, it was a cop out to not refund my money. they only hold a 72 hours return poilcy for clones, so that should tell you a lot.

Price: $10 is reasonable for a clone. They do need to root their clones more. The rec prices were too high, but that's a state issue and they can't be held responsible for every unpleasant experience at their shop.

That was my full experience. So you can see why I have a bad taste in my mouth. I typically would never spend the time to write a review, but the guy on the phone acted like every grow room is infested with bugs. He was convinced that mites ALWAYS appear. This alarms me, because I have a very opposite experience. Clones = diseases. Seeds = clean. Sorry pal, they came in on your plant (Cali Orange) and now the whole purchase is in the trash can

Thank you for the harsh reminder of why I spend the money/time to crack seeds, sex, phenom. I also thank you for the additional $150 I had to spend to clean my house of your pests. The pest companies thank you as well. It's ops like yours that keep them in business.

Official Dispensary Response

Chris, thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review. When we spoke over the phone I did not expect you to include anything constructive, but glad you did. As discussed, it is not company policy to guarantee clones throughout the whole grow cycle as every grow environment is different. Being that the clones were purchased the second week of March and you reached out the second week of April, solely stating that the mites stemmed from the clone purchased and not the grow cannot be guaranteed from either end. With that caveat, and due to your poor experience, we will replace a Cali-Orange clone for you.

4.8
Overall Rating
5.0
Price
5.0
Staff
4.0
Accessibility
5.0
Bud Quality
5.0
Atmosphere

Excellent service, conversation to boot

Had excellent customer service by friendly, knowledgeable staff (Casey). Excellent products. Patient and willing to answer any and all questions. Will certainly return.

5.0
Overall Rating
5.0
Price
5.0
Atmosphere
5.0
Bud Quality
5.0
Accessibility
5.0
Staff

The Best!!

Good guys!!! great bud & prices!!!!

5.0
Overall Rating
5.0
Bud Quality
5.0
Price
5.0
Accessibility
5.0
Staff
5.0
Atmosphere

Golden Goat

Picked up some clones of the golden goat and all look healthy, very excited to get this back in my garden last harvest was very tasty and plentiful so this round should be even better. Thanks for the great genetics!

4.8
Overall Rating
5.0
Atmosphere
5.0
Price
4.0
Accessibility
5.0
Staff
5.0
Bud Quality

Well worth the drive

I don't live in the metro area. It takes 3 hours (round trip) for me to go to The Clone Store. It is well worth the drive. The staff is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The selection of products and flavors is awesome, and they even have a nice selection of glassware. But the clones...! That was the reason for my visit. They have a great selection of strains available. The clones all look healthy and happy and had nice, viable roots. As usual, as soon as I got them home I gave them an in-depth inspection for bugs, PM, etc under a 30X magnifier. Totally clean! Thank you Clone Store! Like I said, well worth the drive and I'll definitely be back.

4.2
Overall Rating
4.0
Atmosphere
5.0
Price
5.0
Accessibility
4.0
Staff
3.0
Bud Quality

What a cool place to shop!

First off I was very happy to get 8 clones of different variety, for a measly $10 a piece. The staff was nice and never seemed deceitful in any way. They answered all my questions fast and seemed to have decent knowledge. The clones health were average, which is good for the price. I asked where the OG Kush Strain was from and they didnt lie and say it was some $10,000 strain like everyone else in town. They simply didnt know which was more refreshing to hear than a lie :) All of my clones survived and seem to be very unique and healthy so I say go get some clones, but ALWAYS LOOK FOR BUGS YOURSELF......I didnt see any at all...or PM.
As for the buds for sale some were good and some werent like EVERY OTHER DISPENSARY I HAVE EVER BEEN TO. Nobody is perfect so I like the store bottom line and I will be back.

5.0
Overall Rating
5.0
Atmosphere
5.0
Accessibility
5.0
Price
5.0
Bud Quality
5.0
Staff

Awesome Buds! Clones!

Very impressive flower, nice selection of clones. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Excellent experience every time.

4.6
Overall Rating
5.0
Price
5.0
Accessibility
5.0
Staff
4.0
Atmosphere
4.0
Bud Quality

good flower, clones OK

1 personthought this review was helpful!

Came in today because I read good reviews on the shop. The store is clean and the guys were nice. Some of the bud was really good (purple erkle, sour d, candy kush) and some that were just ok. The clones were OK but nothing to write home about. I was expecting way healthier looking clones for a shop called "The Clone Store", though they are better than La Contes' clones for sure. I may have just caught them on an off day so i will give them another visit after a week or so and let them get rid of the current stock. I came for the clones but just ended up leaving with an 1/8th of Candy Kush(which was great). Thanks yall and I will see you in a week or so.

5.0
Overall Rating
5.0
Price
5.0
Staff
5.0
Accessibility
5.0
Bud Quality
5.0
Atmosphere

Great Dispensary!

1 personthought this review was helpful!

Today I came in to purchase a heavy Indica clone. While talking with the staff I was able to make an informed decision :) The staff members are professional and quite knowledgable about cannabis!! I purchased a very healthy looking clone of Girl Scout Cookies and I am very pumped to see how it turns out! Thank you Clone Store!!!! Keep up the great work.

4.6
Overall Rating
5.0
Atmosphere
5.0
Price
4.0
Staff
5.0
Accessibility
4.0
Bud Quality

I love the selection of flower and there clones