Curaleaf Morton

Curaleaf Morton

Storefront
In-store purchases only
Storefront
In-store purchases only

Reviews

3.3

16 reviews

kristlew
1 month ago
5 stars

Love

Love this loscation all the employees are all so friendly
WMUser914137156
2 months ago
5 stars

Good

Great place! Great product!
MrEvilBear
6 days ago
3 stars

Why?!?!?!

You keep raising the prices and then you give a discount and it’s right back to the same price as originally. that’s a joke right ? O , BUT NO DISCOUNT NOPE NONE (Got my McClaren payment) ya’know. Its a bad joke so you can make more money off of the rest of us, right? Greedy!!! because you know it’s not expensive enough as it is! Thanks, Hippie frauds And I actually liked that store, damn! I give it a 3 because the employees are great & unfortunately pawns in this BS game. Sorry guys its the powers that be. (ELEPHANTS IN THE ROOM)
DidWeGetWeed
3 months ago
1 star

Privileged.

They get away with a lot of BS in both pricing and customer service since they are the only dispensary in Delco. I have never had a smooth experience here.
1KingofUD
11 months ago
5 stars

wheres the menu at

CocoTheDoodle
11 months ago
5 stars

Great Place!

Every time I’ve gone everyone there has been welcoming and very knowledgeable about the products. Highly recommend!
mont22
1 year ago
5 stars

Happy

Very nice place
robsims85
1 year ago
5 stars

First Visit

Clean inviting location. Front desk guy was very helpful answered all my questions and was eye candy lol. Picked up a hybrid called White Sour which is very good at 30 % THC. Will definitely visit again when in the area.
tj42o74
2 years ago
5 stars

great spot

awesome location and staff.
smokeysam23
2 years ago
2 stars

We want flower and we want it now!

Staff is always super nice and knowledgeable but this store seems to be out of flower more then the other dispensaries near by...
greenstravels
8 months ago
2 stars

Staff is great but problems with inventory

We like this place for it’s convenient location and fortunately, the staff is great here, and my boyfriend, who goes a lot, never complains. That being said, we have been given the incorrect items on more than a couple occasions. His memory is poor due to a medical condition and he does not always remember to check the bag, so it’s important that things are right when he leaves. The parking situation is also problematic at best - they only offer a couple handicapped spaces and then others must park up the block in a lot for a dialysis center and walk down to the shop, which is on a super busy street. The biggest problem that we can’t deal with is they are always out of product. Flower specifically. This isn’t just being picky either - I can use an indica or a hybrid - but there are consistently 3, 5, 7 options, or none! Imagine a dispensary with no flower ?!?! Then, of those offered, it is often untrimmed, small buds or low THC content strains. Not only are we not getting quantity, we aren’t even getting quality. Big disappointment.
Curaleaf MortonUpper Darby
Sorry to hear that your experience left more to be desired. If possible, please reach out to info@myherbology.com so we can learn more regarding the incident.
Official Response8 months ago
Scam4lert
4 months ago
1 star

False advertisement on labels and website

I ordered flower on the website labeled as pelirroja 42 dry leaf 7g. They gave me pelirroja blades 7g for $80 it looks like pure shake with very few buds
00alexxela00
1 year ago
1 star

beyond unhappy

Countless times multiple herbologys' ,especially this one, have screwed up my orders to where im getting 1/3 of what i want/need, i've taken about $150 loss because workers carelessly package online orders where things spill, today they gave my ID's to a random person, spent 4 hours of my day and only got $5 off of spending $700.... Very ridiculous, tried the place 5 times and nothing has changed. Could not think of a worse place!
jaz511
1 year ago
1 star

Unhappy

Before this one incident I thought this place was a professional patient accommodating place ,I placed an online order for an 6-7 window pick up I place the order in the afternoon because I know things go quick ,not only did I get a txt message an hour before they we’re closing at 6pm when the normal closing time is at 8. I called and just wanted to see if there was a way to be accommodated the rep on the phone was very smug in his tone and unconcerning. I find it very displeasing that as I am using this for medical purposes ; I would expect the same care just as going into your local pharmacy. The products are very expensive so I would like to believe there would be some form of accommodation for mishaps.
sortarican89
10 months ago
1 star

Bad experience

The parking situation is horrible had to leave the parking lot 3 times and go around the block and come back to finally park when someone else moved even tho I had an online order. The curbside takes forever and the people who work in there are rude. You guys work around medical weed all day how can you be jerks?
Curaleaf MortonUpper Darby
We are sorry to hear about this experience and would like to hear more. If possible, please reach out to info@myherbology.com so we can address this further.
Official Response9 months ago
redzo
1 year ago
5 stars