A Therapeutic Alternative

A Therapeutic Alternative

Storefront
Closedopens 9:00am
Medical & recreational
License information
In-store purchases only
Curbside pickup
Storefront
Closedopens 9:00am
Medical & recreational
License information
In-store purchases only
Curbside pickup
This retailer stands with the Black Community Learn more or contribute now.

Reviews

4.4

384 reviews

darinandrenee
2 months ago
5 stars

Awesome people

Almost always has what I want in stick. Staff is very knowledgeable about THC and CBD topics. Express orders are filled quickly and accurately.
A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
Hi darinandrenee, Thank you so much for your kind feedback! We love being able to share our knowledge with our members, and we're glad our Express Order service is helpful for you! Blessings, Jenn P
Official Response2 months ago
zachkihm
8 days ago
5 stars

I Highly Recommend

Hey everyone. I have been going to A Therapeutic Alternative for at least 2 years, now. I absolutely love it. I do not go anywhere else, because it always has the products I want (e.g., flower and pre-rolls). I take my friends, here, every chance I get; they love it! Not only am I satisfied with what I get, the customer service is AMAZING! The security, the front staff, and the cannabis experts are all so friendly and easygoing. They answer every question I have for them, treat me with respect and generosity, and I am always excited to see the staff. Besides how wonderful my favorite dispensary is, I wanted to give a special shout-out to Cottie! Cottie goes above and beyond to help me out, and I am always pleased with my experience. Check them out!
A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
Hi zachkihm, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We are so lucky to have such fabulous members like you and we are glad to be here for you! And yes, Cottie is so great! Looking forward to having you back again soon. Blessings, Jenn
Official Response5 days ago
Sonia90
1 month ago
5 stars

One of my favorite shops!

I've been coming to this shop for some time now and truly enjoy the experience walking into a welcoming spot like this. Staff is super friendly and answers any questions you might have. Definently a spot to check out if your in the downtown area
A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
Hi Sonia90, Thank you so much for all your kind words!!! We are all about providing superior cannabis knowledge and are glad we can be there to help with any questions you may have! Can't wait to have you come back! Blessings, Jenn P
Official Response25 days ago
CBenn1ng
3 months ago
5 stars

satisfaction guaranteed

Good afternoon all, I always go to ATA no matter where I am in sacramento or davis. The people with ATA are always understanding, very informative and will always hook you up in time of need or just because they feel like it. If you're looking for a consistent/informative and friendly establishment this is the place
A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
Hi CBenn1ng, We are so happy we are your go-to spot!! We always want our members to leave feeling happy, heard, and like they have the tools they need to feel better. We do have wonderful daily specials as well that help "hook you up" and we love being able to provide those! Blessings, Jenn P
Official Response2 months ago
miladmohad
3 months ago
5 stars

Wonderful Staff

Great staff and customer service.
A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
Hello miladmohad, Thank you so much for your kind words! We appreciate you so much and are happy to have you as a member. Blessings, Jenn P
Official Response2 months ago
jamesmdmj
3 months ago
2 stars

Bait and Switch

Therapeutic Alternative never has in stock what it says it has on its website. Went in for some edibles and all three of my selections were out of stock, but indicated in stock on its website. So, the clerk tried to pawn off some substandard alternatives instead. This is the third time Therapeutic Alternative tried to scam me with its bait and switch tactics. I guess the alternative in the dispensary name means exactly that, you'll get an alternative to what you really want. On a positive note, the clerk smiles when they tell you the store doesn’t have what you want from its online menu. Since you'll have to make another stop to get what you want, just go to another dispensary in the first place and leave Therapeutic Alternative behind.
A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
Hi jamesmdmj, We are so sorry you haven't been able to get your favorite product from us on your visit. We do update our menu often throughout the day, but there are times when it can sell out from the time you check the menu to the time you arrive. We do offer Express Order service so that you may place your order before you arrive, and we will hold it for you until end of business, and it also helps you get in and out of our dispensary much quicker should you be in a hurry! We want you to be happy with your experience and we would love for you to visit us again. If you would like to discuss your experience further or let us know what product is your favorite so that we may be able to help, please reach out to us at ProductPurchasing@ATherapeuticAlternative.com. Blessings, Jenn P
Official Response3 months ago
Warrant57
9 days ago
1 star

Old flower

I went to this place yesterday for the first time to buy some papaya punch flower, I go in the back and the guy gives me an 8th with a November 2020 package date on it, that's 9 months old. I can't believe they're selling weed that old. Then I ask for a strain called Diamond Bubba and the date on that is 4/21, so even though that to is a little old I bought it got home opened the jar up and pull a bud out, it's you guessed it, Old dried up dirt, worse it didn't even smell right and the taste was horrible. And it says under there heading that it's a heavy indica I took four hits and didn't feel any different than before I took the first one, so beware if you go to a therapeutic alternative because they sell all only old flower
A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
Hi Warrant57, We are sorry to hear you weren't happy with your purchase. We have a variety of strains on our menus and different price tiers for our members to choose from, so that you may be able to chose something that has that qualities you are looking for. Please feel free to reach out to our Product Manager if you'd like to discuss this matter further at ProductPurchasing@ATherapeuticAtlernative.com. Blessings, Jenn
Official Response5 days ago
neland
2 years ago
5 stars

Hello, I'm a title

This place is right down the street from me, and I've writen a review before, so this is an update sorta. It's like my home base dispensary, so I'm biased, but tbh, I don't go to a lot of other places anymore. ATA has good prices. Are they the cheapest? I'd doubt it, but the quality of bud I've gotten from here has always been great. And the prices were more than reasonable and often cheaper than many other dispensaries. To add on to that, they provide services/therapy (some of which may/may not be free?? a long time ago they were) for those who are ill. They also 'adopted' part of hwy 50, which I think is pretty awesome. No one ever mentioned it to me in the shop or anything. I just happened to see it on a sign on the freeway on my commute home. Inside the shop, you'll find listings for free classes like yoga and other wellness programs. To me, this place is top notch bc they actually give a damn and give back to the people through programs like that. Customer service is through the roof positive in my experiences. They've always been very courteous, happy to educate me on something I don't know, and I've never felt rushed to get my stuff and get out. Stock is a good assortment, some brands better than others, but their help usually points me towards the better products. What else can I say? These people have my respect. Plenty of other shops feel like it's a fly-by-night operation run by black market weed dealers. This one does not. The employees come across as really professional, intelligent, and caring. The last time I was there it was like 105 degrees outside and they had a guy sweeping the front porch. I, jokingly, said "don't let them keep you out here too long, it's too hot out here." and he responded "yeah, but if the porch isn't clean, how can you expect the herb to be?" I was honestly so impressed by that. Stupid to most people maybe, but, to me, the way your employees act indicates a lot about how a place is managed. I'll continue to go here until I move to another city or until I kick the bucket!
GDPgal916
3 years ago
5 stars

Amazing Staff! Great selection! Good prices!

I am truly shocked to see all the bad feedback about my favorite go-to shop. Have things changed a little bit since the new year? Yes. Did the world fall apart? Not yet. I have been frequenting this dispensary for over 3 years as a medical patient. Any informed cannabis user or previous patron of A Therapeutic Alternative should have been aware that prices would increase with the onset of a regulated cannabis market. They even handed out flyers in their bags explain the upcoming changes beforehand! I visit the shop almost weekly and for months have overheard the staff explaining at length the regulations, the taxes, the packaging, the laws, the changes, the who's what's why's hiws when's etc. It has to be exhausting for them to have to explain to people that are angry at them for things they cannot control. No one seems to understand a regulated market is a safer one and that comes with a cost. All these people upset that they have to share the dispensary will recreational people sound like pompous assholes, excuse my french. Here's the difference between medical and recreational, medical paid someone $50 to talk to them for 5 minutes then issued them a script. Recreational patients should be eabke to have the same service as Medical. I don't know why my fellow medical patients are acting so above everyone else. You probably smoked it illegally in high schoool for the forst time just like most people growing up did. This staff is freaking awesome and they're always kind and courteous! I have only had positive experiences with this dispensary and they are handling a challenging transition to a regulated market with grace. Thank you for being the best!!
calgrower
1 year ago
5 stars

Must be the city taxes

Dime bag are the cheaper concentrate brands. 30 out the door for a gram. In Stockton they are 20 out the door must be the city taxes?? Not sure. Limited selection other shops have huge selection but over all a good selection. Prices are still high here in this area definitely other places outside of Sacramento with all products priced at half their cost. 25$ indoor 8ths can be found all day. 22$ greenhouse 8ths. In other areas for sure. The staff was friendly and preprofessional.
A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
Hi calgrower, thanks for the kind words about our staff and selection! We are subject to a 4% city tax, in addition to sales tax of 8.75% (which also varies throughout the state depending on the location) and excise tax (which is an average of 15% but does vary as well). We do provide a breakdown of each tax on your receipt if you ever want to check and compare. There are many factors that go into pricing, and we try to support small, local growers that may not have the lowest price compared to the bigger farms out there. Please feel free to reach out to us at productpurchasing@atherapeuticalternative.com and let us know how we can improve. Have a wonderful day!
Official Response1 year ago
kindablue28
3 years ago
5 stars

Clean, courteous, helpful

I accidentally parked in the neighboring business lot when I got there. The security guard was nice enough to let me know my mistake and possibly saved my car from getting towed. Paperwork was a breeze and front office people were polite and professional. Back room people were knowledgeable and helpful in answering all my questions. Got some great CBD products. Definitely will be my new go-to.
pantherstealth
3 years ago
5 stars

A+

Was my first time here and was surprised at how "un-ghetto" it was. It was beautiful inside and peaceful. Not a long wait period at all and registration was easy peasy. Not to mention everyone there was so kind and provided great service and information. Prices were not expensive and they had some good strains I've never had before. I haven't smoked the product just yet but dayum did it look and smell good! I couldn't find anything negative about this place. Even the parking was sufficient! The security guards were so nice too! Will most definitely be going again and refer my friends & fam. Thank you!!!!
DavieD2
4 months ago
5 stars

Best Dispensary in Sacramento!

This place has class the people who work there will not rush you and are eagerly ready to help you. Breathe of fresh air. Oh and the members are also friendly really nice clean place to visit . Good range of prices and products . My go to spot now .
A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
Hello, We are so glad to hear we are your go to spot! We hope you always leave feeling you got the help you needed. Blessings, Jenn P
Official Response4 months ago
MTRock21
1 year ago
5 stars

Terrific Storefront - Great Price - COVID-19 SAFE

The staff is very friendly and helpful and pleasant attitude!!! They make your experience terrific as you visit their storefront. The prices are great as well. They offer curbside service and exercise social distancing during the COVID-19 pandemic. This is a must visit storefront during the pandemic and after!!!!
A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
Thank you so much for the shout out! We are working hard to keep our staff and community safe while everyone gets the cannabis they need! Much love to you!
Official Response1 year ago
Eihctir_Eivets
1 year ago
5 stars

Best sac area dispensary

The staff is always very friendly, and always very knowledgeable. I don’t go to any other dispensary and I drive about a 2 hour round trip just to come see them.
Jsayall_day
2 years ago
5 stars

This is a Great Dispensary!

Very nice selection of products, professional staff. Was in and out fairly quick. Parking can be a pain if their parking lot is full. My preferred dispensary in the Sacramento area.
shareya1984
3 years ago
5 stars

Always happy

The meds are great the staff is excellent they are full of knowledge what else can you ask for.
dgreen2383
3 years ago
5 stars

Great selection, Great help.

All of the staff there is great. Their selection is definitely one of the best in the downtown/midtown area and all of the staff is pretty knowledgable on the medicinal benefits of each product. Richard usually helps me out and I’ve never been disappointed in his recommendations.
wenweed
3 years ago
5 stars

Richard G. Miller

Richard G. Miller, Director of Education and Research is the most knowledgeable and compassionate gentleman. He has been with ATA for some time and is always someone you can count on for providing the most updated information. He goes out of his way when waiting on you and is patient and kind. I highly recommend asking for him for outstanding service. Thanks Richard!
timcaltech
3 years ago
5 stars

Place is amazing

Highly recommended and helpful!