A Therapeutic Alternative

A Therapeutic Alternative

Storefront
Openuntil 9:00pm
Medical & recreational
License information
In-store purchases only
Storefront
Openuntil 9:00pm
Medical & recreational
License information
In-store purchases only
This retailer stands with the Black Community Learn more or contribute now.

Reviews

4.4

398 reviews

villa23villa
1 month ago
5 stars

always a great Saturday morning. flower and coffee

I always appreciate a shop that carries CBD options. the bud was a little pricey with tax but the flower was great and a walk to the coffee across the street really is a treat to my Saturday mornings.
Jillianxhoover
26 days ago
5 stars

The Best!

This location has got the nicest people and best edibles! My favorite budtender is Cottie, she deserves a raise!
jpforte
1 month ago
5 stars

Great buds, great prices!

I've been going to the dispensary for a couple years now. They always have a great selection. Their prices are very competitive, seems to be out all the others in the area. But most importantly, the staff is super fantastic! Always nice always friendly always helpful. Thanks guys, keep up the great work!
dennis824
1 month ago
5 stars

Unforgettable

so I haven't been to ATA in awhile but they had The Judge. My daughter and I were helped by Danny. This budtender was knowledgeable about all of the products available, politely offered me the wisdom/senior discount and was adept in his upsale abilities, showing us the in house specials, which we took because they were such good deals. I told him I wanted to give a good review and he handed me his card. Dude was the manager and never mentioned that, he was just doing great customer service, not flexing his stature. Thanks man from a 50 yr veteran user. We will be back soon
Swanprincess_101
2 months ago
5 stars

Wonderful Service!

It was my first time in and Shawn was amazing at making me feel comfortable and welcome. He was super knowledgeable about everything I needed to know and was able to recommend exactly what I needed. He worked with my low budget too and found some perfect solutions. Thanks!
Vswickrealtor
3 months ago
5 stars

Girls Trip

Thank you Ernie for your help. You were very informative. You helped my friend and I immensely!
EJ916
1 month ago
2 stars

Maybe offer more weight than over priced 8ths

I used to frequent this place a few years back and they were ok, now the menu and prices seem strictly set up for tourists. More flower at a better price would most likely drive up sales, as well as portrait you as patient friendly instead of solely for business.
dogwillhunt420
3 months ago
1 star

Bad parking, good vibe, lots and lots of Taxes

The parking to this place is so bad (If you are disabled, there is really no place to park and get out except for the business next door, but if you park there security asks you not too and there is the chance your car may be towed) They basically have a few spots right on the street right next to traffic. Security was super kind. It was nice they had a lift for disabled. The front desk clerk was kind and helpful, and the vibe in the waiting room is nice (Cool music plating with lots of chairs to sit). The back room was really small with a few cases showing what they have in stock (This room was really tight and someone in a wheelchair would have tight spaces to get around in and it would be hard to see all products. I was helped by Dennis. I picked my medicine and asked how much? He said $40. it was $55 after taxes plus my first timer discount. I looked at the receipt and it has 4 taxes added and im medical. I don't see why people come here at all
neland
3 years ago
5 stars

Hello, I'm a title

This place is right down the street from me, and I've writen a review before, so this is an update sorta. It's like my home base dispensary, so I'm biased, but tbh, I don't go to a lot of other places anymore. ATA has good prices. Are they the cheapest? I'd doubt it, but the quality of bud I've gotten from here has always been great. And the prices were more than reasonable and often cheaper than many other dispensaries. To add on to that, they provide services/therapy (some of which may/may not be free?? a long time ago they were) for those who are ill. They also 'adopted' part of hwy 50, which I think is pretty awesome. No one ever mentioned it to me in the shop or anything. I just happened to see it on a sign on the freeway on my commute home. Inside the shop, you'll find listings for free classes like yoga and other wellness programs. To me, this place is top notch bc they actually give a damn and give back to the people through programs like that. Customer service is through the roof positive in my experiences. They've always been very courteous, happy to educate me on something I don't know, and I've never felt rushed to get my stuff and get out. Stock is a good assortment, some brands better than others, but their help usually points me towards the better products. What else can I say? These people have my respect. Plenty of other shops feel like it's a fly-by-night operation run by black market weed dealers. This one does not. The employees come across as really professional, intelligent, and caring. The last time I was there it was like 105 degrees outside and they had a guy sweeping the front porch. I, jokingly, said "don't let them keep you out here too long, it's too hot out here." and he responded "yeah, but if the porch isn't clean, how can you expect the herb to be?" I was honestly so impressed by that. Stupid to most people maybe, but, to me, the way your employees act indicates a lot about how a place is managed. I'll continue to go here until I move to another city or until I kick the bucket!
GDPgal916
4 years ago
5 stars

Amazing Staff! Great selection! Good prices!

I am truly shocked to see all the bad feedback about my favorite go-to shop. Have things changed a little bit since the new year? Yes. Did the world fall apart? Not yet. I have been frequenting this dispensary for over 3 years as a medical patient. Any informed cannabis user or previous patron of A Therapeutic Alternative should have been aware that prices would increase with the onset of a regulated cannabis market. They even handed out flyers in their bags explain the upcoming changes beforehand! I visit the shop almost weekly and for months have overheard the staff explaining at length the regulations, the taxes, the packaging, the laws, the changes, the who's what's why's hiws when's etc. It has to be exhausting for them to have to explain to people that are angry at them for things they cannot control. No one seems to understand a regulated market is a safer one and that comes with a cost. All these people upset that they have to share the dispensary will recreational people sound like pompous assholes, excuse my french. Here's the difference between medical and recreational, medical paid someone $50 to talk to them for 5 minutes then issued them a script. Recreational patients should be eabke to have the same service as Medical. I don't know why my fellow medical patients are acting so above everyone else. You probably smoked it illegally in high schoool for the forst time just like most people growing up did. This staff is freaking awesome and they're always kind and courteous! I have only had positive experiences with this dispensary and they are handling a challenging transition to a regulated market with grace. Thank you for being the best!!
calgrower
2 years ago
5 stars

Must be the city taxes

Dime bag are the cheaper concentrate brands. 30 out the door for a gram. In Stockton they are 20 out the door must be the city taxes?? Not sure. Limited selection other shops have huge selection but over all a good selection. Prices are still high here in this area definitely other places outside of Sacramento with all products priced at half their cost. 25$ indoor 8ths can be found all day. 22$ greenhouse 8ths. In other areas for sure. The staff was friendly and preprofessional.
A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
Hi calgrower, thanks for the kind words about our staff and selection! We are subject to a 4% city tax, in addition to sales tax of 8.75% (which also varies throughout the state depending on the location) and excise tax (which is an average of 15% but does vary as well). We do provide a breakdown of each tax on your receipt if you ever want to check and compare. There are many factors that go into pricing, and we try to support small, local growers that may not have the lowest price compared to the bigger farms out there. Please feel free to reach out to us at productpurchasing@atherapeuticalternative.com and let us know how we can improve. Have a wonderful day!
Official Response2 years ago
kindablue28
4 years ago
5 stars

Clean, courteous, helpful

I accidentally parked in the neighboring business lot when I got there. The security guard was nice enough to let me know my mistake and possibly saved my car from getting towed. Paperwork was a breeze and front office people were polite and professional. Back room people were knowledgeable and helpful in answering all my questions. Got some great CBD products. Definitely will be my new go-to.
pantherstealth
4 years ago
5 stars

A+

Was my first time here and was surprised at how "un-ghetto" it was. It was beautiful inside and peaceful. Not a long wait period at all and registration was easy peasy. Not to mention everyone there was so kind and provided great service and information. Prices were not expensive and they had some good strains I've never had before. I haven't smoked the product just yet but dayum did it look and smell good! I couldn't find anything negative about this place. Even the parking was sufficient! The security guards were so nice too! Will most definitely be going again and refer my friends & fam. Thank you!!!!
DavieD2
1 year ago
5 stars

Best Dispensary in Sacramento!

This place has class the people who work there will not rush you and are eagerly ready to help you. Breathe of fresh air. Oh and the members are also friendly really nice clean place to visit . Good range of prices and products . My go to spot now .
A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
Hello, We are so glad to hear we are your go to spot! We hope you always leave feeling you got the help you needed. Blessings, Jenn P
Official Response1 year ago
MTRock21
2 years ago
5 stars

Terrific Storefront - Great Price - COVID-19 SAFE

The staff is very friendly and helpful and pleasant attitude!!! They make your experience terrific as you visit their storefront. The prices are great as well. They offer curbside service and exercise social distancing during the COVID-19 pandemic. This is a must visit storefront during the pandemic and after!!!!
A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
Thank you so much for the shout out! We are working hard to keep our staff and community safe while everyone gets the cannabis they need! Much love to you!
Official Response2 years ago
Eihctir_Eivets
2 years ago
5 stars

Best sac area dispensary

The staff is always very friendly, and always very knowledgeable. I don’t go to any other dispensary and I drive about a 2 hour round trip just to come see them.
Jsayall_day
2 years ago
5 stars

This is a Great Dispensary!

Very nice selection of products, professional staff. Was in and out fairly quick. Parking can be a pain if their parking lot is full. My preferred dispensary in the Sacramento area.
shareya1984
4 years ago
5 stars

Always happy

The meds are great the staff is excellent they are full of knowledge what else can you ask for.
dgreen2383
4 years ago
5 stars

Great selection, Great help.

All of the staff there is great. Their selection is definitely one of the best in the downtown/midtown area and all of the staff is pretty knowledgable on the medicinal benefits of each product. Richard usually helps me out and I’ve never been disappointed in his recommendations.
wenweed
4 years ago
5 stars

Richard G. Miller

Richard G. Miller, Director of Education and Research is the most knowledgeable and compassionate gentleman. He has been with ATA for some time and is always someone you can count on for providing the most updated information. He goes out of his way when waiting on you and is patient and kind. I highly recommend asking for him for outstanding service. Thanks Richard!