Accepting orders until 4:00am
A Therapeutic Alternative

A Therapeutic Alternative

Storefront
Openuntil 9:00pm
Medical & recreational
License information
Order online (pickup)
Promo code
Storefront
Openuntil 9:00pm
Medical & recreational
License information
Order online (pickup)
Promo code
Promo code
This retailer stands with the Black Community Learn more or contribute now.

Reviews

4.4

415 reviews

Verified reviewers liked

Customer service (6)

Price (4)

      neland
      3 years ago
      5.0 stars

      Hello, I'm a title

      This place is right down the street from me, and I've writen a review before, so this is an update sorta. It's like my home base dispensary, so I'm biased, but tbh, I don't go to a lot of other places anymore. ATA has good prices. Are they the cheapest? I'd doubt it, but the quality of bud I've gotten from here has always been great. And the prices were more than reasonable and often cheaper than many other dispensaries. To add on to that, they provide services/therapy (some of which may/may not be free?? a long time ago they were) for those who are ill. They also 'adopted' part of hwy 50, which I think is pretty awesome. No one ever mentioned it to me in the shop or anything. I just happened to see it on a sign on the freeway on my commute home. Inside the shop, you'll find listings for free classes like yoga and other wellness programs. To me, this place is top notch bc they actually give a damn and give back to the people through programs like that. Customer service is through the roof positive in my experiences. They've always been very courteous, happy to educate me on something I don't know, and I've never felt rushed to get my stuff and get out. Stock is a good assortment, some brands better than others, but their help usually points me towards the better products. What else can I say? These people have my respect. Plenty of other shops feel like it's a fly-by-night operation run by black market weed dealers. This one does not. The employees come across as really professional, intelligent, and caring. The last time I was there it was like 105 degrees outside and they had a guy sweeping the front porch. I, jokingly, said "don't let them keep you out here too long, it's too hot out here." and he responded "yeah, but if the porch isn't clean, how can you expect the herb to be?" I was honestly so impressed by that. Stupid to most people maybe, but, to me, the way your employees act indicates a lot about how a place is managed. I'll continue to go here until I move to another city or until I kick the bucket!
      GDPgal916
      5 years ago
      5.0 stars

      Amazing Staff! Great selection! Good prices!

      I am truly shocked to see all the bad feedback about my favorite go-to shop. Have things changed a little bit since the new year? Yes. Did the world fall apart? Not yet. I have been frequenting this dispensary for over 3 years as a medical patient. Any informed cannabis user or previous patron of A Therapeutic Alternative should have been aware that prices would increase with the onset of a regulated cannabis market. They even handed out flyers in their bags explain the upcoming changes beforehand! I visit the shop almost weekly and for months have overheard the staff explaining at length the regulations, the taxes, the packaging, the laws, the changes, the who's what's why's hiws when's etc. It has to be exhausting for them to have to explain to people that are angry at them for things they cannot control. No one seems to understand a regulated market is a safer one and that comes with a cost. All these people upset that they have to share the dispensary will recreational people sound like pompous assholes, excuse my french. Here's the difference between medical and recreational, medical paid someone $50 to talk to them for 5 minutes then issued them a script. Recreational patients should be eabke to have the same service as Medical. I don't know why my fellow medical patients are acting so above everyone else. You probably smoked it illegally in high schoool for the forst time just like most people growing up did. This staff is freaking awesome and they're always kind and courteous! I have only had positive experiences with this dispensary and they are handling a challenging transition to a regulated market with grace. Thank you for being the best!!
      calgrower
      3 years ago
      5.0 stars

      Must be the city taxes

      Dime bag are the cheaper concentrate brands. 30 out the door for a gram. In Stockton they are 20 out the door must be the city taxes?? Not sure. Limited selection other shops have huge selection but over all a good selection. Prices are still high here in this area definitely other places outside of Sacramento with all products priced at half their cost. 25$ indoor 8ths can be found all day. 22$ greenhouse 8ths. In other areas for sure. The staff was friendly and preprofessional.
      A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
      Hi calgrower, thanks for the kind words about our staff and selection! We are subject to a 4% city tax, in addition to sales tax of 8.75% (which also varies throughout the state depending on the location) and excise tax (which is an average of 15% but does vary as well). We do provide a breakdown of each tax on your receipt if you ever want to check and compare. There are many factors that go into pricing, and we try to support small, local growers that may not have the lowest price compared to the bigger farms out there. Please feel free to reach out to us at productpurchasing@atherapeuticalternative.com and let us know how we can improve. Have a wonderful day!
      Official response3 years ago
      kindablue28
      5 years ago
      5.0 stars

      Clean, courteous, helpful

      I accidentally parked in the neighboring business lot when I got there. The security guard was nice enough to let me know my mistake and possibly saved my car from getting towed. Paperwork was a breeze and front office people were polite and professional. Back room people were knowledgeable and helpful in answering all my questions. Got some great CBD products. Definitely will be my new go-to.
      pantherstealth
      5 years ago
      5.0 stars

      A+

      Was my first time here and was surprised at how "un-ghetto" it was. It was beautiful inside and peaceful. Not a long wait period at all and registration was easy peasy. Not to mention everyone there was so kind and provided great service and information. Prices were not expensive and they had some good strains I've never had before. I haven't smoked the product just yet but dayum did it look and smell good! I couldn't find anything negative about this place. Even the parking was sufficient! The security guards were so nice too! Will most definitely be going again and refer my friends & fam. Thank you!!!!
      DavieD2
      2 years ago
      5.0 stars

      Best Dispensary in Sacramento!

      This place has class the people who work there will not rush you and are eagerly ready to help you. Breathe of fresh air. Oh and the members are also friendly really nice clean place to visit . Good range of prices and products . My go to spot now .
      A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
      Hello, We are so glad to hear we are your go to spot! We hope you always leave feeling you got the help you needed. Blessings, Jenn P
      Official response2 years ago
      MTRock21
      3 years ago
      5.0 stars

      Terrific Storefront - Great Price - COVID-19 SAFE

      The staff is very friendly and helpful and pleasant attitude!!! They make your experience terrific as you visit their storefront. The prices are great as well. They offer curbside service and exercise social distancing during the COVID-19 pandemic. This is a must visit storefront during the pandemic and after!!!!
      A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
      Thank you so much for the shout out! We are working hard to keep our staff and community safe while everyone gets the cannabis they need! Much love to you!
      Official response3 years ago
      Eihctir_Eivets
      3 years ago
      5.0 stars

      Best sac area dispensary

      The staff is always very friendly, and always very knowledgeable. I don’t go to any other dispensary and I drive about a 2 hour round trip just to come see them.
      Jsayall_day
      3 years ago
      5.0 stars

      This is a Great Dispensary!

      Very nice selection of products, professional staff. Was in and out fairly quick. Parking can be a pain if their parking lot is full. My preferred dispensary in the Sacramento area.
      shareya1984
      4 years ago
      5.0 stars

      Always happy

      The meds are great the staff is excellent they are full of knowledge what else can you ask for.
      dgreen2383
      4 years ago
      5.0 stars

      Great selection, Great help.

      All of the staff there is great. Their selection is definitely one of the best in the downtown/midtown area and all of the staff is pretty knowledgable on the medicinal benefits of each product. Richard usually helps me out and I’ve never been disappointed in his recommendations.
      wenweed
      4 years ago
      5.0 stars

      Richard G. Miller

      Richard G. Miller, Director of Education and Research is the most knowledgeable and compassionate gentleman. He has been with ATA for some time and is always someone you can count on for providing the most updated information. He goes out of his way when waiting on you and is patient and kind. I highly recommend asking for him for outstanding service. Thanks Richard!
      timcaltech
      5 years ago
      5.0 stars

      Place is amazing

      Highly recommended and helpful!
      Camaliesh
      5 years ago
      5.0 stars

      3rd times a charm

      Very friendly staff, great selection and prices! Don't park on the side but in the back! Will be my go to spot for now on!
      raymegirl
      5 years ago
      5.0 stars

      Best dispensary in all of Sacramento

      I really appreciate their knowledge of the products and how they list the percentage of CBD THC THCA CBN. No other Sacramento location on weedmaps does that. I smoke medically for my dysautonomia and this helps me find the best ratio that works for me. Helpful staff, and great menu.
      Farleyyyyyy
      5 years ago
      5.0 stars

      Amazing!

      One of the best shops in town! My first time stopping by just a few minutes ago and I am very impressed. A little bit of a wait, but very clean, and plenty of options. Thanks to my bud tender for the good karma! My new shop for sure!
      Delafuente916
      5 years ago
      5.0 stars

      Awsome customer service!

      the most helful and most INFORMATIONAL dispensary is sacramento and they focus deeply with all the health benefits of marijuana.
      sdavey123
      5 years ago
      5.0 stars

      Absolute best!!

      Thank you so so much to the entire staff at Therapeutic Alternative! This is the only dispensary I feel comfortable going to. Not only is it convenient enough for me to walk here, but I also feel like I never left home as soon as I step in. From the security guard to the budtenders, everyone is extremely friendly and respectful! They're knowledgeable about every single product inside and out! My most recent visit was assisted by Richard. I didn't buy much this trip, but I took home A quality preroll and an encouraging conversation. Even if I move too far to walk, this will always be the place I end up! Much love!!
      erekking
      6 years ago
      5.0 stars

      My first dispensary

      Great staff and so welcoming for a first timer! Love the bud and the edibles are varied. There's the sweetest cat called Indica who prowls the waiting room. Bonus.
      calikidaloha
      8 years ago
      5.0 stars

      Dab/Concentrate Heaven And Professional Staff!

      Back Ground; 23yo Male Multible Compressed Vretibre, MyoFacial Pain Syndrom, Fibro Mialgia, and numerous broken bones from a couple extreme sports accidents in my early adult hood which have left me phycically impaired for the rest of my life, I was prescribed 80mg oxycontin, with 10mg Daludid for breakthrough pain, along with clonopin for muscle spasms and soma, in 2005 when i was 14, Eventually I got addicted to all of them before I even graduated, I had used marijuana recreationally in my teens but the day i turned 18 I got my first medical marijuana recommendation around 2008, At the time I was living in Hollywood so there was no shortage of "dispensary's" and I have bascally been to every clinic from san diego to san francisco I am 3 years sober from all hard drugs but take 85 methadone daily. ATA THIS PLACE IS ONE OF A KIND! And not only offers TOP SHELP MEDS, but All sorts of free classes for members. This is the only clinic i go to anymore because they give back to the commuinity and ive been to over 100 collectives and besides SPARC in SF.... ATA is the future because SAFE ACCESS to this MEDICINE is keeping people alive longer and with a higher quality of life! ATA has been the only consistently reliable and potent clinic in California as far as im concerned (but SPARC in San FranCisco is def in second!) and here is why i feel this way, The first day I walked through the door i was met by richard one of the most knowlageable and interesting people i have ever had the plesure of meeting, the staff here is AWSOME both security gaurds are awsome and super friendly and non-intimidating (especially the one with eyes on the back of his head he goes out of his way to make PAITENTS feel comfortable instead a scary guy sizing you up or metal detecting...(that can really trigger some of us with PTSD thank god all they greet us at ATA is smiles ) So once your inside the paper work is super routine, and they also offer a wide range of discounts, one of the best things about this club is the AMAZING STAFF and how KNOWLEDGEABLE they are about the MEDICINE they are providing SAFE ACCESS too, Mark, Chris, Richard, are the only names that i can draw off the top off my head but everyone they employ has been just a honour to meet and discus the meds with someone who actually RECOGNIZES that MARIJUANA is a MEDICINE, and "dank dro" or "hella dank" is not any way anyone should address there product, at ATA all the caregivers look PROFESSIONAL where scrubs, and once a month meet with there 3rd party testing company Sequoia Labs to help not only asure that the medicine is safe, Explain the new strains have been submited, but most of all what levels of THC, and other CBD,CBN,and CBD's that are in the MEDICINE YOU, THE PAITENT PAY FOR!!!! :) Infact this is the only clinic that i trust the budtenders suggestion because they actually can help you find the right specific strain, method of delivery, and they really have something for everyone. Shout out for Richard for suggesting the GSC WAX @ 92% which actually stopped my neck/hip pain after one dab, Also a Shout Out to Mark The 'OG Sour diesel Snowcap' has help with my anxiety so much and Chris has NEVER steered me wrong ever they are just an honest bunch that really know there meds, and I RESPECT THAT, ive been to other clinics and it just seems phoney like it obvious these other clubs just be faking the funk, and im on a fixed income so i dont got time to play 'round with some 'snap 'crackle' pop shit because ATA's Consistant Quality and affordability, i have spred the word because I finally found a club that is By Paitents For Paitents! NO Shit My Vary good friend and room mate has a spinal cord injury from a moto x accident that has left him with terriable muscle spasms, a dab of CBD wax/shatter/bud literally works to relax his body better than the meds the doc prescribes him! And he is able to live narcotic free but doesw take medication thanks to ATA's wide availability of concentrates many with a decent amount of CBD. ATA really has changed my life for the better, and the mutual respect of having HONEST INFORMED BUDTENDERS who take there jobs so seriously, this aint no big place with flatscreens and overstocked with dry ass bud like a few of the other clinics i been in sac town. But they have a team of professionals who really take 215 seriously which definitely ensure quality control! ATA has the BEST CONCENTRATES IN TOWN FOR THOSE WHO HAVE PAIN, ANXIETY, ANOREXIA....etc