A Therapeutic Alternative

A Therapeutic Alternative

Storefront
In-store purchases only
Curbside pickup
Storefront
In-store purchases only
Curbside pickup
This retailer stands with the Black Community Learn more or contribute now.

Reviews

4.4

379 reviews

DavieD2
1 month ago
5 stars

Best Dispensary in Sacramento!

This place has class the people who work there will not rush you and are eagerly ready to help you. Breathe of fresh air. Oh and the members are also friendly really nice clean place to visit . Good range of prices and products . My go to spot now .
A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
Hello, We are so glad to hear we are your go to spot! We hope you always leave feeling you got the help you needed. Blessings, Jenn P
Official Response1 month ago
miladmohad
7 days ago
5 stars

Wonderful Staff

Great staff and customer service.
vangel24
10 days ago
5 stars

Great service

First time here and super sweet and amazing people ! Very helpful bless them all :) also take debit cards which is great compared to others please come out here you won’t regret it :) -Valerie
A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
Hi Valerie, Thank you so much!! We appreciate you and are glad to have you as a member! Blessings, Jenn P
Official Response3 days ago
Kjkirrene
1 month ago
5 stars

Great bang for your buck experience

Very helpful budtenders, good prices and great products. Shout to Cottie for the help
A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
Hi Kjkirrene, We are so glad to hear that you had a good experience! We appreciate your feedback and shoutout to our awesome counselor. Blessings, Jenn P
Official Response28 days ago
RiverSam
1 month ago
5 stars

Good, bad to GREAT

Went here years ago and always had a pleasant experience. Up until there was a few budtender that were very aggressive, so much that I had to take a time out from there. I am pleased to say I went back and found the the new team was great. From the receptionist, guards to the tall tender who was extremely positive. Brightening my day. The team there is great, helpful and I will be making this home again.
A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
Hi RiverSam, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are always striving to continue our education and training with staff so we can grow and be better each day. We are so glad you came back and are happy to be your home again! If you ever want to reach out about any of your experiences, feel free to email our CEO Kimberly at CEO@ATherapeuticAlternative.com. Blessings, Jenn
Official Response1 month ago
skeetyskeetskeet
2 months ago
5 stars

Favorite place in town

This place has never disappointed! The quality of the medicines they keep and the staff that takes the time to thoroughly help you has kept me coming back. I even brought in my sister and mother who now go back on their own! Even when the product I’m looking for isn’t in, there is always a quality item being recommended and I’m always pleased. It’s a must stop if you’re in the area.
A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
Hi skeetyskeetskeet, Thank you so much for your feedback!! We are so glad that not only you but your family can feel comfortable and cared for here. We can't wait for you to come back soon! Blessings, Jenn
Official Response1 month ago
donnysunrise
2 months ago
3 stars

Stop lying about the live menu!

This used to be my go to spot, they always had kind service and helpful staff. Recently, however, I haven't been able to make a single order! They ask you before you place a pickup order if you've read their menu and are up to date on it, and even if you have, there's a very good chance that they don't have what you're looking at and have yet to update their menu. If you want an up to date menu you have to go inside which sort of removes the purpose of pickup doesn't it? Please be upfront with how often you update your Weedmaps menu! Stop lying about it being 'live'! It only causes more problems than it solves.
A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
Hi donnysunrise, We appreciate your feedback and are working on solutions to keep our Weedmaps menu more up to date. Our menu on our website www.ATherapeuticAlternative.com is a "live" menu that is attached to our Point Of Sale System, and typically is able to provide a clearer picture of what is available. We understand how frustrating it is when you come in and we don't have what you came for. We hope you visit us again soon and have the positive experience we strive to provide. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please feel free to email us at ProductPurchasing@ATherapeuticAlternative.com. Blessings, Jenn P
Official Response1 month ago
jamesmdmj
7 days ago
2 stars

Bait and Switch

Therapeutic Alternative never has in stock what it says it has on its website. Went in for some edibles and all three of my selections were out of stock, but indicated in stock on its website. So, the clerk tried to pawn off some substandard alternatives instead. This is the third time Therapeutic Alternative tried to scam me with its bait and switch tactics. I guess the alternative in the dispensary name means exactly that, you'll get an alternative to what you really want. On a positive note, the clerk smiles when they tell you the store doesn’t have what you want from its online menu. Since you'll have to make another stop to get what you want, just go to another dispensary in the first place and leave Therapeutic Alternative behind.
A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
Hi jamesmdmj, We are so sorry you haven't been able to get your favorite product from us on your visit. We do update our menu often throughout the day, but there are times when it can sell out from the time you check the menu to the time you arrive. We do offer Express Order service so that you may place your order before you arrive, and we will hold it for you until end of business, and it also helps you get in and out of our dispensary much quicker should you be in a hurry! We want you to be happy with your experience and we would love for you to visit us again. If you would like to discuss your experience further or let us know what product is your favorite so that we may be able to help, please reach out to us at ProductPurchasing@ATherapeuticAlternative.com. Blessings, Jenn P
Official Response3 days ago
chrysalis7
2 months ago
1 star

Poor Public Relations

This dispensary wanted me to give them my personal info (fill out this form) after I already let them scan my driver’s License. Think again. I’ve never been to any dispensary that required any info about me other than my license. Done with this place, didn’t go in, never will. You can’t have my personal info, you are entitled to scan my drivers license, no more than that. “Because we’re East Sac” isn’t a valid reason to harvest my info. Seems like systemic something... No matter how one labels it, I’m out. I’ll go to a dispensary that doesn’t want my personal info. This place can eff off.
A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
Hello chrysalis7, We do have a New Member Sign Up process where paperwork is filled out. We are in a sensitive use location situated near schools, churches, and parks, which comes with unique circumstances that may not be required at other dispensaries that you visit. We do make sure that all of your information is kept private and used strictly for internal purposes. If you would like to discuss our paperwork process further, please feel free to email us at CEO@ATherapeuticAlternative.com. Blessings, Jenn P
Official Response1 month ago
neland
2 years ago
5 stars

Hello, I'm a title

This place is right down the street from me, and I've writen a review before, so this is an update sorta. It's like my home base dispensary, so I'm biased, but tbh, I don't go to a lot of other places anymore. ATA has good prices. Are they the cheapest? I'd doubt it, but the quality of bud I've gotten from here has always been great. And the prices were more than reasonable and often cheaper than many other dispensaries. To add on to that, they provide services/therapy (some of which may/may not be free?? a long time ago they were) for those who are ill. They also 'adopted' part of hwy 50, which I think is pretty awesome. No one ever mentioned it to me in the shop or anything. I just happened to see it on a sign on the freeway on my commute home. Inside the shop, you'll find listings for free classes like yoga and other wellness programs. To me, this place is top notch bc they actually give a damn and give back to the people through programs like that. Customer service is through the roof positive in my experiences. They've always been very courteous, happy to educate me on something I don't know, and I've never felt rushed to get my stuff and get out. Stock is a good assortment, some brands better than others, but their help usually points me towards the better products. What else can I say? These people have my respect. Plenty of other shops feel like it's a fly-by-night operation run by black market weed dealers. This one does not. The employees come across as really professional, intelligent, and caring. The last time I was there it was like 105 degrees outside and they had a guy sweeping the front porch. I, jokingly, said "don't let them keep you out here too long, it's too hot out here." and he responded "yeah, but if the porch isn't clean, how can you expect the herb to be?" I was honestly so impressed by that. Stupid to most people maybe, but, to me, the way your employees act indicates a lot about how a place is managed. I'll continue to go here until I move to another city or until I kick the bucket!
GDPgal916
3 years ago
5 stars

Amazing Staff! Great selection! Good prices!

I am truly shocked to see all the bad feedback about my favorite go-to shop. Have things changed a little bit since the new year? Yes. Did the world fall apart? Not yet. I have been frequenting this dispensary for over 3 years as a medical patient. Any informed cannabis user or previous patron of A Therapeutic Alternative should have been aware that prices would increase with the onset of a regulated cannabis market. They even handed out flyers in their bags explain the upcoming changes beforehand! I visit the shop almost weekly and for months have overheard the staff explaining at length the regulations, the taxes, the packaging, the laws, the changes, the who's what's why's hiws when's etc. It has to be exhausting for them to have to explain to people that are angry at them for things they cannot control. No one seems to understand a regulated market is a safer one and that comes with a cost. All these people upset that they have to share the dispensary will recreational people sound like pompous assholes, excuse my french. Here's the difference between medical and recreational, medical paid someone $50 to talk to them for 5 minutes then issued them a script. Recreational patients should be eabke to have the same service as Medical. I don't know why my fellow medical patients are acting so above everyone else. You probably smoked it illegally in high schoool for the forst time just like most people growing up did. This staff is freaking awesome and they're always kind and courteous! I have only had positive experiences with this dispensary and they are handling a challenging transition to a regulated market with grace. Thank you for being the best!!
calgrower
1 year ago
5 stars

Must be the city taxes

Dime bag are the cheaper concentrate brands. 30 out the door for a gram. In Stockton they are 20 out the door must be the city taxes?? Not sure. Limited selection other shops have huge selection but over all a good selection. Prices are still high here in this area definitely other places outside of Sacramento with all products priced at half their cost. 25$ indoor 8ths can be found all day. 22$ greenhouse 8ths. In other areas for sure. The staff was friendly and preprofessional.
A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
Hi calgrower, thanks for the kind words about our staff and selection! We are subject to a 4% city tax, in addition to sales tax of 8.75% (which also varies throughout the state depending on the location) and excise tax (which is an average of 15% but does vary as well). We do provide a breakdown of each tax on your receipt if you ever want to check and compare. There are many factors that go into pricing, and we try to support small, local growers that may not have the lowest price compared to the bigger farms out there. Please feel free to reach out to us at productpurchasing@atherapeuticalternative.com and let us know how we can improve. Have a wonderful day!
Official Response1 year ago
kindablue28
3 years ago
5 stars

Clean, courteous, helpful

I accidentally parked in the neighboring business lot when I got there. The security guard was nice enough to let me know my mistake and possibly saved my car from getting towed. Paperwork was a breeze and front office people were polite and professional. Back room people were knowledgeable and helpful in answering all my questions. Got some great CBD products. Definitely will be my new go-to.
pantherstealth
3 years ago
5 stars

A+

Was my first time here and was surprised at how "un-ghetto" it was. It was beautiful inside and peaceful. Not a long wait period at all and registration was easy peasy. Not to mention everyone there was so kind and provided great service and information. Prices were not expensive and they had some good strains I've never had before. I haven't smoked the product just yet but dayum did it look and smell good! I couldn't find anything negative about this place. Even the parking was sufficient! The security guards were so nice too! Will most definitely be going again and refer my friends & fam. Thank you!!!!
MTRock21
1 year ago
5 stars

Terrific Storefront - Great Price - COVID-19 SAFE

The staff is very friendly and helpful and pleasant attitude!!! They make your experience terrific as you visit their storefront. The prices are great as well. They offer curbside service and exercise social distancing during the COVID-19 pandemic. This is a must visit storefront during the pandemic and after!!!!
A Therapeutic AlternativeSacramento
Thank you so much for the shout out! We are working hard to keep our staff and community safe while everyone gets the cannabis they need! Much love to you!
Official Response1 year ago
Eihctir_Eivets
1 year ago
5 stars

Best sac area dispensary

The staff is always very friendly, and always very knowledgeable. I don’t go to any other dispensary and I drive about a 2 hour round trip just to come see them.
Jsayall_day
1 year ago
5 stars

This is a Great Dispensary!

Very nice selection of products, professional staff. Was in and out fairly quick. Parking can be a pain if their parking lot is full. My preferred dispensary in the Sacramento area.
shareya1984
3 years ago
5 stars

Always happy

The meds are great the staff is excellent they are full of knowledge what else can you ask for.
dgreen2383
3 years ago
5 stars

Great selection, Great help.

All of the staff there is great. Their selection is definitely one of the best in the downtown/midtown area and all of the staff is pretty knowledgable on the medicinal benefits of each product. Richard usually helps me out and I’ve never been disappointed in his recommendations.
wenweed
3 years ago
5 stars

Richard G. Miller

Richard G. Miller, Director of Education and Research is the most knowledgeable and compassionate gentleman. He has been with ATA for some time and is always someone you can count on for providing the most updated information. He goes out of his way when waiting on you and is patient and kind. I highly recommend asking for him for outstanding service. Thanks Richard!